HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 26, 2012, 08:19 AM
Newbe learning everyday!
United States, OH, Parma Heights
Joined Aug 2012
666 Posts
Discussion
Can I boost up my champs power

Im new to the hobby and love flying my micros,but when it is a little windy I will only fly my champ. I just wanted to know if I could safely put a motor from my t- 28 or polecat on the champ. I know the gear boxes are the same for all 3.
dbdukeboy is offline Find More Posts by dbdukeboy
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 26, 2012, 08:43 AM
Did you check the FAQ already?
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
12,705 Posts
For best power, get a Nine Eagles Bravo SX motor. Only catch, it comes with a different pinion and motor connector, but with a little handy work both things can be fixed. Combined with a decent 240 mAh battery I understand you can make it climb vertically.
SoloProFan is online now Find More Posts by SoloProFan
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 26, 2012, 11:54 AM
Dude, get me some ice cream!
United States, MA, Amherst
Joined Apr 2012
797 Posts
The champ and t 28 have the same motor. The polecat motor is stronger, 'cause its coreless.
Felt_ripper 23 is offline Find More Posts by Felt_ripper 23
Old Aug 26, 2012, 12:14 PM
Newbe learning everyday!
Joined Aug 2012
666 Posts
But if I put a polecat motor in will it fry my receiver
Old Aug 26, 2012, 04:46 PM
Gravity is a harsh mistress.
United States, MI, Temperance
Joined Sep 2002
6,556 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbdukeboy View Post
But if I put a polecat motor in will it fry my receiver
The Polecat motor will do just fine in the champ. The Gearbox and prop are the same in both the Champ and Polecat.

Also use a lightweight and quality battery like a 160 mA Thunder Power or Hyperion cell.
Tim Wolff is online now Find More Posts by Tim Wolff
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 26, 2012, 05:46 PM
Did you check the FAQ already?
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
12,705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felt_ripper 23 View Post