HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 23, 2003, 03:00 PM
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined Nov 2000
4,359 Posts
Do I need to fly Both Ailerons & Rudder to do 3D?

I would like to get into flying 3D but my left hand is nowhere near as coordinated as my right hand. Does 3D flying involve both Rudder & Aileron? Can you fly 3D with just Aileron/Elevator or Rudder/Elevator?

-Thanks-

Mike
mrebman is offline Find More Posts by mrebman
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2003, 03:33 PM
Pro Bro #495
Farmington NM
Joined Apr 2002
3,194 Posts
Yes. Don't worry about it. It becomes second nature after a while. I'm always trying to use the left stick, even when I'm flying a 3 channel plane.
fwilly is offline Find More Posts by fwilly
Old Nov 23, 2003, 03:49 PM
And You're Not
Timbuktu, Mali (Happy?)
Joined Oct 2002
6,514 Posts
That's the great thing about flying 3D...you will finally get to use all the sticks all the time!

I admit I was very weak in rudder skills when I started learning 3D...now I'm a lot better (still LOTS of room for improvement!!!!!!) but it gives me a sense of being a much more complete RC pilot.

It's a journey, not a destination.
Jeffery is offline Find More Posts by Jeffery
Old Nov 23, 2003, 06:38 PM
RIP Ric
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by fwilly
It becomes second nature after a while.
What they don't say, is how long "a while" is..

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeffery
I admit I was very weak in rudder skills when I started learning 3D...now I'm a lot better (still LOTS of room for improvement!!!!!!)
Exactly. I built the 3DX because although my Super Diablotin is quite capable, the nut behind the gimbles isn't.. I only have about 10 flight on mine (although at >15 minutes, usually 20+ per flight, that's a LOT more stick time than any other model), I am actually getting close to being able to hover.