HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 22, 2012, 07:01 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
801 Posts
Discussion
Xbee Pro with MultiWii

Does anyone know if are compattible?
Neo360 is offline Find More Posts by Neo360
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 22, 2012, 07:03 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Xbee is just a TTL serial link.
You might need voltage shifters if you're using it with 5V-based stuff.
Otherwise, it should work the same as any BT dongle or FTDI usb>serial etc.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 22, 2012, 07:14 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
801 Posts
I just used this module on mikrokopter and works pretty good, but with multiwii dont works, i set serial to 115.200 on xbee pro but when i start connection the Gui transfer just a second and freeze the comunication!
Neo360 is offline Find More Posts by Neo360
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 07:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
801 Posts
I think that the problem are because the xbee module have the full duplex comunication at 57600 baud and when you set 115200 xbee the comunication crash.
Neo360 is offline Find More Posts by Neo360
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 09:47 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Probably.
You can change multiwii GUI serial speed to 57600 as well.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 22, 2012, 09:56 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
801 Posts
I think that was not possible
Neo360 is offline Find More Posts by Neo360
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 09:59 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
It is.
Serial speed in multiwii firmware itself, as well as in GUI.
The java one you'd have to recompile... But MWC WinGUI you can just click + configure.
So you can telemetry/GUI at 57600 baud no problme.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 22, 2012, 10:07 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
801 Posts
Reply for another forum

Re: MultiWii release 2.1 is here

Postby nhadrian Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:52 am
Dear Alexinparis!!!

I'd kindly ask you to put in a selectable serial speed setting into the GUI!
RCTimer just released his new extension board which contains a slot for XBee Pro modules!
So maybe others than me would use XBees for telemetry soon.
But, unfortunatelly, XBee only supports 57600 speed for full 2way communication. So is is important to have the chance of modifying speed in the GUI too.
Thanks in advance!!!

BR
Adrian

ps.: I personally interrested in the MAC version but once you modify the sketch of the GUI it'd be easy to generate GUI to other platforms...

Reply:

Adrian, as long as the refresh rate is not settable, there is no reason to lower the serial speed, the current update rate and number of messsages are going to saturate the serial line at 57600.
Neo360 is offline Find More Posts by Neo360
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 11:35 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Yeah, which is why I said Multiwii-WInGUI http://code.google.com/p/mw-wingui/ has this configurable, and not the silly java one. Which ALSO has configurable refresh rate, so you can lower it to like 10Hz and still have telemetry over 56700.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold 900MHz XBee PRO Module Pair healthyfatboy FPV Equipment (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2012 10:35 PM
Sold Xbee Pro 900mhz telemetry kit, good for Arducopter, MK, FPV ) - 100$ ganapati08 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Apr 26, 2012 10:23 AM
Sold DIYDrones Xbee Pro Telemetry Kit 900mHz kingiggy262 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Apr 09, 2012 01:25 PM
Sold Xbee Pro azred Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Feb 22, 2012 05:00 PM
Discussion FDR pro and XBee Pro interface f3fisa Eagle Tree Systems 4 Dec 09, 2009 03:22 AM