HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 20, 2012, 12:04 AM
Joined Aug 2012
18 Posts
Discussion
Conver a balsa stick 40 plus

I have a Balsa Stick 40 Plus that i was thinking about switching over to electric. I am interested in the ease of electric over glow. I know the stick 40 has been around forever and I hope its not sacrilege to convert it to electric. I am new to flying so if I get any replys type them slowly and in plain english cause I havent got all the lingo down yet. Thanks for your help.
FireChief4302 is offline Find More Posts by FireChief4302
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 20, 2012, 01:31 AM
Australia, WA, Kalgoorlie
Joined Apr 2011
1,435 Posts
Welcome to RCG!

The Stik is a perennial favourite amongst sport models and will fly well on electric power.

Some things need to be considered:
1. Weight of model ready to fly. Since you have the model already it would be easy to weigh it without the power system installed. The projected weight will determine what power plant will be required. If your model is for instance going to be around 5 pounds, and you want at least a power to weight ratio of 100W/lb, you will be in the market for a 500W+ power system.