HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 19, 2012, 05:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
8 Posts
Help!
KK2.0 with DJI ESC'S possible ?

Hello Members,

as an beginner i like to ask you if somebody has experience using

DJI OPTO ESC's with the KK2.0 Board ?

If so please tell us how you realised it

THX


Herbert
advera is offline Find More Posts by advera
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 19, 2012, 05:42 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
An ESC is an ESC.
The problem starts when you have ESCs not suitable for multicopters, such as DJI escs.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 19, 2012, 07:00 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,055 Posts
Yes, with the exemption of the autopilot system and the Z-15, DJI is just re-labeling off the shelf R/C equipment like the rest of them.
jab is offline Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 07:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
8 Posts
DJI ESC with KK2.0

Hello,
i think i have to use one ESC which supplies 5Volts at M1 on the KK2.0 Board

But there is no 5V at the red lined "PIN" from the DJI ESC :-(

Also i have no experience with using an UBEC at M1
so it seems to be a problem using the DJI 's ????

Any Idea ?

I do not want to buy compatible but think i must do so ???

thx

Herbert

Quote:
Originally Posted by jab View Post
Yes, with the exemption of the autopilot system and the Z-15, DJI is just re-labeling off the shelf R/C equipment like the rest of them.
advera is offline Find More Posts by advera
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 08:29 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,055 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by advera View Post
Hello,
i think i have to use one ESC which supplies 5Volts at M1 on the KK2.0 Board

But there is no 5V at the red lined "PIN" from the DJI ESC :-(

Also i have no experience with using an UBEC at M1
so it seems to be a problem using the DJI 's ????

Any Idea ?

I do not want to buy compatible but think i must do so ???

thx

Herbert
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Reduction.html
jab is offline Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 09:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
8 Posts
hey jab

of course BUT i also have to connect the ESC at the SAME M1 Port

is it possible ?

[/I]
advera is offline Find More Posts by advera
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 09:20 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Use Y-Cable
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 19, 2012, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
8 Posts
y-cable

How to use it ?
advera is offline Find More Posts by advera
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 05:57 PM
Here hold my beer. Watch this!
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2008
427 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by advera View Post
How to use it ?
Your asking how to use a Y cable?

I dont have the enthusiasm right now to draw a picture.
So here is a picture from the web.

Replace "RX" with the M1 output on your KK2 controller.
Dont worry about removing any red wires because the DJI ESC's are optically isolated, no BEC built into them so there is no requirement to remove the red wire.

Y cable you can buy or build.
Sad Sack is offline Find More Posts by Sad Sack
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 12:22 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Troy
Joined Sep 2012
77 Posts
IS there a website you could show me where I could buy this?
brownegg24am is offline Find More Posts by brownegg24am
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 12:32 AM
THE PUBLIC IS THE PROBLEM
subaru4wd's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,289 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownegg24am View Post
IS there a website you could show me where I could buy this?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5X-300mm-Ser...item3f1a5dcf1e


Remember to remove the red wire on the Y cable that leads to your ESC. Just like the diagram above shows.
subaru4wd is offline Find More Posts by subaru4wd
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 01:29 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Troy
Joined Sep 2012
77 Posts
do you simply cut the red wire and thats the end of it or do you have to go all the way in and remove it?
brownegg24am is offline Find More Posts by brownegg24am
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 01:31 AM
THE PUBLIC IS THE PROBLEM
subaru4wd's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,289 Posts
You can cut it.
subaru4wd is offline Find More Posts by subaru4wd
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
6 Posts
KK2 M1 will not start with Exceed 40A OPTO and Hobby Wing 3A ubec

I cannot get M1 to start. I,m trying to use (4) Exceed Proton 40A OPTO ESC'S on a Quad with A Hobby Wing (3) amp switching UBEC to supply power to the KK2. Using a made-up Y cable to connect the opto esc and ubec to the M1 connection - KK2 powers up and M2, 3 & 4 start but M1 will not start. Dissconected red ( ) wire from the esc plug and tried again - M1 will not start. Disconnected the white signal wire from the ubec connection - still M1 will not start. Switched esc's around they are all good. Any Ideas???
danv is offline Find More Posts by danv
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:15 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
1 Posts
KK2 Connections

I'm no expert on this, I've just built my first quad (DJI F450 with KK2 1.5) and the way I did it was to power the board with the BEC on M1 (no Y-lead) and then copy the default setting from M1 to M5 and connect the 1st ESC to that position and the rest as normal (M2,M3,M4). Works a treat! I zeroed all the settings at the M1 connection. Hope this helps.
MediEvilKenEvil is offline Find More Posts by MediEvilKenEvil
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question V-Tail Quad copter with HK KK2.0 Multi-Rotor Control Board horst1903 Multirotor Electronics 3 Dec 16, 2012 11:14 AM
Discussion KK2.0 Hexacopter with Stabilized Gimbal? Foam boy Multirotor Electronics 3 Nov 07, 2012 05:55 PM
Question Can I run my KK2 board & ESC's off my Bench Power Supply? subaru4wd Multirotor Electronics 18 Aug 16, 2012 12:44 PM
Found Need 2 Avroto 2814's and 2 DJI 30A ESC's Goanna Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Apr 19, 2012 12:32 AM
Sold DJI F450 Frame with Motors and Esc's ROCKY2 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Feb 26, 2012 10:20 PM