HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 18, 2012, 05:33 PM
flying high
United Kingdom, England, Sevenoaks
Joined Nov 2011
77 Posts
Discussion
f-15 build Foam scratch build,

hi all, well sorry there's no pictures to kick this off as the camera is dead, but im building a 118% scale 33" wingspan f-15, ive build a mock up in about 60% form around 15" long just to practice, and it came out well, and free flys better then i thought, a very balanced plane, maybe a tad tail heavy but actually helps keep the nose up as its just a plane to check.

any way ive got every thing cut out and weights 250g or 8.5oz

i was going to get a het fan, but thought this is my first build and im more then likely going to nose dive it in to the ground at some point. so i went with these items

fan/esc combo
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11165

battery
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11912

servos
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...?idProduct=662

and got these connectors 3.9 grams each (using 4)
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9572

horns 2g per 4
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1907058929...ht_1592wt_1037

i haven't accounted for thrust tube or nozzle yet, but cant see that being more then 10g.

breakdown
wire/rx/connectors 30g
fan/esc 139g
battery 239g
3 servos 27g (ailerons, elevators,rudder ) i may add another for flaps in the future
horns and rods 8g
plane/foam airframe 250g this includes the support strips

so am i right in saying auw is 693g or 24.44oz

so will that fan be powerful enough for this plane? considering how well the plane flys on its own im very looking forward to seeing how it flys! also be very tempted to give it a chuck out side once its built with no kit in it, such a big plane weighing 250g is crazy!!!

so would it be worth building a thrust vector or would i get enough control? or as its tail heavy any way not worth it
also would i be ok putting my laid out like this and my servos like this?