HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 17, 2012, 11:03 AM
Joined Aug 2012
1 Posts
Question
New RC enthusiast in need of advice

Hi rcgroups,

Firstly an introduction, I'm very new to anything RC but have Flown an RC heli once or twice, I have however done a reasonable amount of electrical work, and taken a few courses in analogue and digital electronics. I saw the talk on quad copters at Ted.com and have since seen many videos on multi rotors and what they are capable of. I was really inspired and would now like to start flying them.
I started out thinking I should buy an ardrone or something along those lines but quickly started looking into building my own.

After some research I have come up with the fairly generic build:

-KK2.0 Multi-rotor LCD Flight Control Board
-Turnigy Talon Carbon Fiber Quadcopter Frame (I will probably end up building my own as there are a lot of designs on the net and I have access to the tools to do it)
-Turnigy 2217 20turn 860kv 22A Outrunner
-TURNIGY Plush 25amp Speed Controller
-apc propellers 10x4.7
-ZIPPY Flightmax 4000mAh 3S1P 20C 

My questions are:

-Is this build ok? Will everthing work together and is there an engine/esc etc that would do a better job or be more reliable for around the same price or less. (I only what to be able to life a gopro in the end so are the engines over kill?)

-As someone who hasn't had any experience flying a quad-copter is it reasonable to expect that I will be able to control this. (I am very willing to spend a lot of time learning and hovering the quad-copter a foot of the ground and slowly getting the hang of it, I realise flips are out of the question for the first few years of flying) Also is the KK board capable of stable flight and be reasonable to control as a noobie?

-Are there any important things I need to buy that any RC-diy builder would need to build a quad-copter, ie wire(what kind?), prop adpters etc