Old Aug 14, 2012, 08:54 PM
DLG addict
Japan, Tokyo
Joined Jan 2005
370 Posts
Discussion
Aska : CNC moldie project from Japan

Hi guys,

I should say sorry for my poor English most first. I think that I often use strange English although I am interested and studying in English, because I am too accustomed to Japanese.

However I'm not a professional of model-sailplanes, Finally I threw out over $6500 at private property with having much cold drops come out on my skin, have made the CNC metal mold by the high-precision processing technology of Japan.

I have designed several DLG sailplanes using XFLR5 until now, This ship - named "Aska" is my latest and a compilation of my wing design.

I started the new design project called "prj.-gecko" at the summer in 2011. First, I designed new airfoils and a wing and made few prototypes to evaluate the performances/characteristics of the main wing. I made a main wing and put on the remaining body.

Haya

(to be continued)
hayataro is offline Find More Posts by hayataro
Last edited by hayataro; Aug 15, 2012 at 03:10 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 14, 2012, 09:23 PM
DLG addict
Japan, Tokyo
Joined Jan 2005
370 Posts
My basic design concept has not been changing so much for a long time. So, Higher (launch) , Further (searching) , Wider (area of field).

"Launch higher then run further, search good thermals in the wider air!"

The prototype of bagged wing have some advantages and problems. Very easy to built compare with the moldie, but have slightly lower accuracy at the airfoils.
So, the float characteristic tends to become excessive and penetration become underestimating. Moreover, the altitude of the lunch tends to lower, too.

----

Next, I started designing molds with improving the flight characteristics and getting the up-to-dated theories.

Haya

(tobe cont.)
Last edited by hayataro; Aug 14, 2012 at 11:16 PM.
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:27 PM
DLG addict
Japan, Tokyo
Joined Jan 2005
370 Posts