HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 09, 2012, 08:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
49 Posts
Discussion
X9503 programming throttle kill/cut

Can someone please tell me how to program one of my switches for throttle kill? Basically, what's the easiest way to do this. I'm overwhelmed by the JR programming and I just want to set up a switch (probably the mix lever) to be able to kill the throttle (all my planes are electric) so an inadvertent throttle bump doesn't spin up the prop. Any help would be awesome. Thanks in advance.
derrickh78 is offline Find More Posts by derrickh78
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 09, 2012, 08:35 PM
Registered User
Evan D's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2004
5,685 Posts
Let me get my transmitter...
Evan D is offline Find More Posts by Evan D
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 08:42 PM
Registered User
Evan D's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2004
5,685 Posts
I use mix 6. #THR >THRO. Pos 0 at 0%, 0%, Pos 1 at -100%, -100%. Offset -174. Mix switch to Pos1 all others to Pos 0.

With this if you pull the top rear switch you get throttle hold.

When I first got my radio I did this and copied it to every model memory.
Evan D is offline Find More Posts by Evan D
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 09:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
49 Posts
Does this look right?



Is there any reason you have to use mix 6? And just for my knowledge, what is the offset? Thanks.
derrickh78 is offline Find More Posts by derrickh78
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 09:23 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
49 Posts
After looking at this, im thinking its wrong....
derrickh78 is offline Find More Posts by derrickh78
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 09:26 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
49 Posts
I also noticed that mix 1 is defaulted as thro-thro....i had always tried that. Ill shut up and wait for someone to tell me what i did wrong. Ill have to actually test this later.
derrickh78 is offline Find More Posts by derrickh78
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 09:38 PM
Registered User
Evan D's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2004
5,685 Posts
You want #Thr to Thro mix, #thr is the throttle position no matter the ATV or other settings. Your way may work too though, look at the monitor screen.
Evan D is offline Find More Posts by Evan D
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 10:09 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
49 Posts
So this?



I went to the monitor screen and hit the lever and began advancing the throttle. It was bottomed out until the third white mark on the throttle stick pass3d the middle line and then the throttle began advancing. At full throttle, with the lever in pos1, the monitor showed throttle right in the middle. Is this correct?
derrickh78 is offline Find More Posts by derrickh78
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 10:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
49 Posts
Whoops...sorry its upside down.
derrickh78 is offline Find More Posts by derrickh78
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 02:31 AM
Registered User
Tomahawk's Avatar
Southern Ontario, Canada
Joined Nov 2001
604 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by derrickh78 View Post
So this?



I went to the monitor screen and hit the lever and began advancing the throttle. It was bottomed out until the third white mark on the throttle stick pass3d the middle line and then the throttle began advancing. At full throttle, with the lever in pos1, the monitor showed throttle right in the middle. Is this correct?
Just checked my 9503. My programming looks the same as your screen shot. Only minor differences. My offset is at -172 and I happen to use Mix 3.
When my Mix switch is activated the throttle on the monitor screen doesn't move at any throttle setting.
Do you have another mix that could be interfering?

Chris
Tomahawk is offline Find More Posts by Tomahawk
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 07:58 AM
Registered User
Evan D's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2004
5,685 Posts
Yea, it shouldn't move at all
Evan D is offline Find More Posts by Evan D
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 02:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
49 Posts
I cant imagine whats wrong. I hooked up a battery and tried it and just like the monitor, it kicks the throttle on at the same spot....why am I having so many issues with this??? It seems like it should be straightforward. Its on my combat wing and I didnt do any esc programming or anything...could that be it? I havent tried it on another model just yet.
derrickh78 is offline Find More Posts by derrickh78
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 04:53 PM
Registered User
Evan D's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2004
5,685 Posts
Throttle trim at the mid point? It has to be another mix somewhere.
Evan D is offline Find More Posts by Evan D
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 02:22 AM
Registered User
Tomahawk's Avatar
Southern Ontario, Canada
Joined Nov 2001
604 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan D View Post
Throttle trim at the mid point? It has to be another mix somewhere.
This was going to be my next suggestion.

One thing I have noticed programming my DX7 and 9503. Make sure the throttle disable mix is the last mix.

I was setting up some mixes for throttle differential on a twin and added them after the disable mix. When engaged the differential mix would over ride the disable mix.

If you have another plane. Try the mix on another model memory. It does work.


Chris
Tomahawk is offline Find More Posts by Tomahawk
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 02:38 PM
Registered User
Tomahawk's Avatar
Southern Ontario, Canada
Joined Nov 2001
604 Posts
Have you solved your issue with the throttle kill switch?

Chris
Tomahawk is offline Find More Posts by Tomahawk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Programing a throttle kill switch on the 9503? Evan D Radios 6 Apr 10, 2011 09:16 AM
Discussion Which 2.4 Radio Has Throttle Lock Out For Electric Planes?/ Programming Throttle Cut aaronstomfoolery Radios 28 Oct 03, 2008 05:14 PM
Discussion DX7 Heli - Throttle Cut / Engine Kill Switch PMIX RJ Radios 0 Jul 27, 2007 11:28 PM
Discussion Spekrum DX7- programming in idle down and throttle cut attesi Radios 1 Jan 27, 2007 03:10 PM
9303 How to program a throttle cut? Eyefly Radios 1 Oct 13, 2005 09:16 AM