HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 15, 2012, 04:05 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsipprell View Post
I suspect that under such exacting circumstances, JR/Spektrum (and perhaps others) radios might exacerbate the issue because of "Servo Sync" which attempts to drive pairs of servos in tandem.
Yes, but the rx in question does not support that, so it's not a contributing factor for Tom's repeated crashes.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 15, 2012, 04:07 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard hanson View Post
Your engines did not have a servo operated throttle ?
On those basic FF-assist planes with ignition engines, the THRO channel goes to the ignition for using the failsafe (or they use an AR6255 instead of AR600).

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 04:40 PM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,679 Posts
Andy. under interference conditions (Not Brownout)
blocking Both DSM2 Rf links. is the below true or false ?

"if the F/S event was too long, the receiver would then take a 3-5 seconds to reconnect,"
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 04:45 PM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,679 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsipprell View Post
I don't believe we are talking about a "brownout" here. The alleged problem was induced on the ground by forcing a hold for more than one second (or so), not by dropping voltage on the rx. Adding additional conditions only serves to complicate understanding/testing the problem.
Agreed
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:07 PM
Sure, I can fly after sunset!?
United States, MI, Novi
Joined Jan 2011
521 Posts
My Experience!

One year ago, I bought a DX6i.

At a swap meet. It was used.

It had been repaired prior to this. Not sure what the repair was.

Everything was great at first. Then, I broke the antenna. I jury rigged it.

Then, I broke the aileron trim.

Several months ago, I crashed three planes due to a range problem. I SHOULD have done a range check, but like most people (?) I did not. Afterwards, I discovered that I failed the range check at about 15 feet.

I set the DX6i aside and "made do" with the DX5e that came with my Radian.

Finally, after several months, I decided to contact HH. $25 minimum charge for 1/2 hour bench time. Well, I thought about junking it and buying a new one. Who knows how much this would cost? But, I decided to throw caution to the wind and mailed it in.

A couple days later, I got an email verifying that my package got there.

The next day, I got an email stating that the work was complete and it was being shipped back to me!

I got it today ... opened the box ... and there was my DX6i, looking as good as new. The invoice had this note...

IN THE SPIRIT OF CUSTOMER SERVICE, YOUR DX6i HAS BEEN OUTFITTED WITH A NEW ANTENNA, RF DECK, AND TWO NEW SWITCHES FREE OF CHARGE! THE UNIT HAS BEEN TESTED FOR BIND, RANGE, FUNCTION, AND OUTPUT STRENGTH, AND ALL TESTS INDICATE A FULLY FUNCTIONAL TRANSMITTER. IF YOU HAVE ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS, PLEASE CONTACT OUR PRODUCT SUPPORT TEAM AT 1 877 504 0233. THANKS.

They fixed the range problem and all the other problems. I didn't even know there was a problem with a second switch!

NO CHARGE!

And all this for a unit that I TOLD THEM I bought second hand!

How is THAT for CUSTOMER SERVICE?

Thank you Horizon Hobby!!!
mybad is offline Find More Posts by mybad
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:17 PM
Registered User
Mikecam's Avatar
Canada, MB, Winnipeg
Joined Apr 2008
925 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mybad View Post
One year ago, I bought a DX6i.


Several months ago, I crashed three planes due to a range problem. I SHOULD have done a range check, but like most people (?) I did not. Afterwards, I discovered that I failed the range check at about 15 feet.
Too bad range issues with your DX6i cost you 3 planes!!!!!!!
Mikecam is offline Find More Posts by Mikecam
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:39 PM
Way to many airplanes!
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2009
5,458 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecam View Post
Too bad range issues with your DX6i cost you 3 planes!!!!!!!
Did you read the whole story? The guy is blaming himself for having so many mishap with his Tx, then failing to do range testing (I guess particularly after the first crash), and you say it's the abused DX6i's fault for crashing 3 planes.... Wow!!!!
RealGambler is online now Find More Posts by RealGambler
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Mikecam's Avatar
Canada, MB, Winnipeg
Joined Apr 2008
925 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealGambler View Post
Did you read the whole story? The guy is blaming himself for having so many mishap with his Tx, then failing to do range testing (I guess particularly after the first crash), and you say it's the abused DX6i's fault.... Wow!!!!
Pretty much sums up the Spektrum mantra,

it can't be the radio so it must be the user.
Mikecam is offline Find More Posts by Mikecam
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:45 PM
Sure, I can fly after sunset!?
United States, MI, Novi
Joined Jan 2011
521 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecam View Post
Too bad range issues with your DX6i cost you 3 planes!!!!!!!
Yeah, but the instructions with the planes and the radios state that you should always do a range check. THAT was my fault!

Prior to the first crash, I was puzzled by intermittent lack of control when the plane was further away. Everything was OK again when it was closer ... so I flew it further away again. Lost control again, but this time I cut the motor and it crash landed.

I wasn't sure what was wrong. Must have been something with that plane? So, I pulled out my Radian. Same thing happened. Must be the TX I thought.

So, I pulled out my third plane, a HZ Super Cub, and decided to just fly it close. Worked for a while! Then, I flew it further away and another crash landing.

I'll chalk it all up to a Senior Moment!

Fortunately, I was flying over high grass and shrub next to a soccer field. The crashes were not bad; nothing that some CA and a hot glue gun couldn't fix. I had them up and flying the next day ... but with my DX5e.

If I had done the range checks (I do them now!) I probably would have avoided all the crashes, or at least the last two.

Amazing how being in a hurry usually costs you time in the long run.
mybad is offline Find More Posts by mybad
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:51 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,392 Posts
Thank you for your integrity even when being bullied by haters. It says a lot about you - you're a "real man!"

And thanks again for buying Spektrum (even second-hand!)

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:52 PM
Way to many airplanes!
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2009
5,458 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecam View Post
Pretty much sums up the Spektrum mantra,

it can't be the radio so it must be the user.
He blamed the 3 crashes on himself, but you blame the radio. He said the radio was broken from prior abuse, and was fixed for free anyway. Truly, you cannot read!
RealGambler is online now Find More Posts by RealGambler
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 06:02 PM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,679 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mybad View Post
Yeah, but the instructions with the planes and the radios state that you should always do a range check. THAT was my fault!
I applaud you for admitting your errors
at least you learnt a lesson you won't forget.


I wish you good luck in the future
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 06:56 PM
Registered User
RyanNX211's Avatar
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Joined Dec 2007
1,469 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard hanson View Post
Your engines did not have a servo operated throttle ?
No, it's not necessary
RyanNX211 is offline Find More Posts by RyanNX211
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 08:16 PM
Sure, I can fly after sunset!?
United States, MI, Novi
Joined Jan 2011
521 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Thank you for your integrity even when being bullied by haters. It says a lot about you - you're a "real man!"

And thanks again for buying Spektrum (even second-hand!)

Andy
You're welcome, but I don't really feel like I'm being bullied. We all have differences of opinions, and sometimes they become so concrete that there is little chance of changing them. I've got some myself, but we won't get into that here.

No product is perfect, but I'm pretty satisfied with what I have. And so far, I have 4 Blade helis, a HZ Super Cub, a Radian, and a PZ S.E.5a. THESE were all bought new, in the past 22 months. And, I'm having a ball.
mybad is offline Find More Posts by mybad
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 10:48 PM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,869 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanNX211 View Post
No, it's not necessary
Oh that's sorta like my old ignition engine!
richard hanson is offline Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Another reason why we hate lawyers dll932 Life, The Universe, and Politics 37 Jul 02, 2012 04:30 PM
Rant this is why i hate fee bay bethelflier8036 Other Websites 6 Apr 18, 2012 01:22 AM
Why do birds hate model planes ? Feodosia Flyer Electric Plane Talk 14 Jun 28, 2001 04:19 AM