HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 19, 2003, 05:21 PM
Land of Entrapment
Joined Nov 2003
175 Posts
First flight at least to me!!

I am completely new to R/C planes. I've dabbed in control line in the past but this is my first true stab at R/C. I finally got a chance for my first flight and to fly my slow stick yesterday for the first time
The first day I tried it was way to windy to fly. I was waiting to get an almost still day for my first flight. Yesterday I tried again with slightly better results. We waited until about 5:15 PM when all the winds died down and then rushed to the field to beat the setting sun. When we get there I plugged in the battery, did a quick range and operation check and hit the throttle. It rolled for about 15 feet and then the motor died. Everything else still worked. The battery that I had charged the day before was dead and in the rush to get to the field I had forgot the other battery. I'm just glad my ESC will cut off the motor first when the battery is dead. So desperate to get my first flight in I reset the battery connection and tossed the plane in the air. Gave it full throttle that lasted about 5 seconds and glided it down to a decent landing. Flight #1 in my book!!
Going to try again tonight but all this waiting has given me time to keep building on my S.P.A.D. that should be ready soon.
Fleg is offline Find More Posts by Fleg
Last edited by Fleg; Nov 20, 2003 at 01:58 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2003, 05:36 PM
Closet Extrovert
In transit Los Angeles ->AZ, -> KY
Joined Aug 2003
1,653 Posts
===So desperate to get my first flight in I reset the battery connection and tossed the plane in the air. Gave it full throttle that lasted about 5 seconds and glided it down to a decent landing. ===

Been there done that. Usually with a lot worse results
Congrats on the "mini maiden" of your SS.
Jim Poor is offline Find More Posts by Jim Poor
Old Nov 19, 2003, 07:44 PM
Land of Entrapment
Joined Nov 2003
175 Posts