HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 16, 2013, 09:07 PM
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,951 Posts
yeah ... they are the same
CrashAffinity is offline Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:08 PM
Registered User
United States, ID, Burley
Joined Mar 2012
3,298 Posts
well to tell the truth i did not that TINY little writing in manual for CG LOL was going from posts here and with the 3s 5000 lipo seems like 4.5 inches was good, still am amazed the difference at 4"
fastfwd is offline Find More Posts by fastfwd
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:31 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Roflmao

Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketJoe View Post
ok

im not getting this ...cg is best at 4 inches from leading edge....

manual sayz 100mm...

??

these are the same..
Good point. I never considered that. According to a converter, 100mm is 3.93". That is just .07" (an RCH - if you are old enough to remember what that means) short of that. I am sitting here laughing at myself over that one. I have a Masters in Math and I totally missed that one. Thanks for the laugh on me.
AJ
P.S. I guess I will have to look further. -OR- learn how to fly an ~8' plane.
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:36 PM
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,951 Posts
for us noobs (like me) i prefer to go a tad nose heavy at first and then move to the CG point. In the case of the SSS i started at the CG point bang on and was very happy with the performance.
CrashAffinity is offline Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:42 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfwd View Post
well to tell the truth i did not that TINY little writing in manual for CG LOL was going from posts here and with the 3s 5000 lipo seems like 4.5 inches was good, still am amazed the difference at 4"
I wish I would have started there. But, alas, I did read and set my CG at 100mm (from LE - but, I think we all know that) and added a gyro and it still seems like I have to land it too fast. Any suggestions? Anyone. Since a picture is worth....... Please review my videos and if it looks like I need to change something (besides the operator), feel free to let me know. I am sure I (and maybe others, too) could learn something. Here they are. I put an "*" at the end of them (disregard it and click on any one of them) so it wouldn't take up so much space. I am thinking about the guys with slow internet + It is a PIA to scroll through that many videos. TIA.
AJ
P.S. To avoid boredom, just go to the end of each video and see the landings.
The list if from the maiden to the latest video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcZwwdJeIIk*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-8ufNbdSwA*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XD3-8rbe924*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ok-KttzsONo*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WCGjIUWUutw*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udn_pRlyPs0*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWHWeSUlras*
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Last edited by ajbaker; Mar 16, 2013 at 10:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:48 PM
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,951 Posts
hey aj, your landings are slower than mine, admittedly my SSS is likely loaded up more than yours (i'm sitting at around 110 oz). I just bring her in, hit the flaps, and keep adding elevator till she touches down. I still need some sort of runway.
CrashAffinity is offline Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:59 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by polix View Post
hey aj, your landings are slower than mine, admittedly my SSS is likely loaded up more than yours (i'm sitting at around 110 oz). I just bring her in, hit the flaps, and keep adding elevator till she touches down. I still need some sort of runway.
Gee whiz... I don't think I ever used the flaps because I "didn't think" (I could just put a period right there) that this plane needed them because my 3 Skys's (1400mm) did not need them at all. I tried flaps on one of them and it just caused it to be a handful to land. i.e.-made it tougher to land. But, this is 2400mm and a higher wing load. So, I do need to at least try using the flaps. Thanks. BTW-There is nothing to set up for flaps. I already have them programmed into my xmitter.
That brings up another question. Is everyone using flaps except me???
I feel a DUH coming on.
AJ
P.S. Probably. Mine is 5lbs exactly (80 oz to save a conversion).
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Last edited by ajbaker; Mar 16, 2013 at 11:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:08 PM
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,951 Posts
at only 5 lbs you may experience much slower landings due to flap usage
CrashAffinity is offline Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 17, 2013, 01:34 AM
Registered User
RocketJoe's Avatar
Joined Apr 2007
544 Posts
flaps

Quote:
Originally Posted by polix View Post
hey aj, your landings are slower than mine, admittedly my SSS is likely loaded up more than yours (i'm sitting at around 110 oz). I just bring her in, hit the flaps, and keep adding elevator till she touches down. I still need some sort of runway.
ok
heres another " trick "

if u have a radio with mixing you can mix the elevator to go down as you add flaps to slow ..

so if you put this on a switch for landing the radio will auto dial in the elevator as the flaps are added..of course you have to dial this manually to get a idea first..I'd do it up in the air to watch it slow down...once you get it dialed in you can set this to you mix ad pow its on a switch like a gear switch sets the wheels..

every radio maker is different and the better the radio the more advanced you can get..

when the flaps are activated it cause the wing to have more lift..you add down elevator to compensate..

its know well with the glider guys...you can ck on "butterfly" too


flaps down and both ailerons up...stalls and drops...use rudder for steering ...

hope that helps

RocketJoe is offline Find More Posts by RocketJoe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 02:07 AM
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
2,951 Posts
yeah i actually stay away from that since i never fine tune my planes oh that much, though the DX8 does give me that option (elevator) on my flap settings.

Never got around to setting up another channel to do a proper crow, i'm out of channels on my SSS, until i get the DL installed anyways, then likely i will, good idea
CrashAffinity is offline Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 17, 2013, 01:01 PM
Registered User
United States, ID, Burley
Joined Mar 2012
3,298 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbaker View Post
I wish I would have started there. But, alas, I did read and set my CG at 100mm (from LE - but, I think we all know that) and added a gyro and it still seems like I have to land it too fast. Any suggestions? Anyone. Since a picture is worth....... Please review my videos and if it looks like I need to change something (besides the operator), feel free to let me know. I am sure I (and maybe others, too) could learn something. Here they are. I put an "*" at the end of them (disregard it and click on any one of them) so it wouldn't take up so much space. I am thinking about the guys with slow internet + It is a PIA to scroll through that many videos. TIA.
AJ
P.S. To avoid boredom, just go to the end of each video and see the landings.
The list if from the maiden to the latest video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcZwwdJeIIk*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-8ufNbdSwA*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XD3-8rbe924*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ok-KttzsONo*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WCGjIUWUutw*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udn_pRlyPs0*
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWHWeSUlras*
Man i dont see anything wrong man ! Your landings are smooth and very nice, mine comes in hot also even with flaps.I think mine is due to fear of coming in to slow and stalling,with new CG ill try slowing down a bit more.
fastfwd is offline Find More Posts by fastfwd
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 01:12 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Perfect Landings

Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketJoe View Post
ok
heres another " trick "

if u have a radio with mixing you can mix the elevator to go down as you add flaps to slow ..

so if you put this on a switch for landing the radio will auto dial in the elevator as the flaps are added..of course you have to dial this manually to get a idea first..I'd do it up in the air to watch it slow down...once you get it dialed in you can set this to you mix ad pow its on a switch like a gear switch sets the wheels..

every radio maker is different and the better the radio the more advanced you can get..

when the flaps are activated it cause the wing to have more lift..you add down elevator to compensate..

its know well with the glider guys...you can ck on "butterfly" too


flaps down and both ailerons up...stalls and drops...use rudder for steering ...

hope that helps

I am with Polix on that because I have had not so good luck with trying to make landings at just slightly above (or at) stall speed. I have tried "crow" with a couple of planes with mixed results. I think I need more practice with those things before I try them again. Thanks for the feedback, though. That is what I am looking for because I feel locked in my own little forest and I can't see the trees (pun intended).
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 08:47 PM
Geeks 'R' Us
HeartSailor's Avatar
United States, MO, Smithville
Joined Jan 2013
111 Posts
Mixing with transmitter

At the risk of repeating something that's been posted elsewhere - I use a Hitec Optic 6 Sport; use on Acro mode, but have programmed top left 3-way switch to be 'normal' flight with switch in the middle, switch down is flaps down with elevator trimmed down, switch up is flaps up (hey, SPOILERS!) with elevator trimmed up. The last mode works well to get rid of ground effect/floating.

Other Xmitters have similar modes. It's worth playing with it.
HeartSailor is offline Find More Posts by HeartSailor
Last edited by HeartSailor; Mar 17, 2013 at 08:58 PM. Reason: Add pictures
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 10:03 PM
Registered User
United States, ID, Burley
Joined Mar 2012
3,298 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeartSailor View Post
At the risk of repeating something that's been posted elsewhere - I use a Hitec Optic 6 Sport; use on Acro mode, but have programmed top left 3-way switch to be 'normal' flight with switch in the middle, switch down is flaps down with elevator trimmed down, switch up is flaps up (hey, SPOILERS!) with elevator trimmed up. The last mode works well to get rid of ground effect/floating.

Other Xmitters have similar modes. It's worth playing with it.
interesting ! I never thought of having flaps go up as spoiler,s. ill have to try it out...
fastfwd is offline Find More Posts by fastfwd
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 10:38 PM
Geeks 'R' Us
HeartSailor's Avatar
United States, MO, Smithville
Joined Jan 2013
111 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfwd View Post
interesting ! I never thought of having flaps go up as spoiler,s. ill have to try it out...
If you're still using the default SSS 2.4 GHz Xmitter, then the top right knob is your 'flaps' knob. Adjust the throw on the flap servos so that they can go 'up' and work as spoilers. That's actually the easiest way to do it. The Hitec Optic 6 Sport is really a 5 channel transmitter- the 6th channel (ie, flaps) gets used only when you program modes. It does actually broadcast 6 channels, but getting those channels to translate to the knobs takes somne mental gymnastics. The Xmitter that comes with the SSS is actually a true 6 channel (meaning you've got 6 knobs- one per channel) Xmitter, which is conceptually kind of cool. At any rate, once you've figured out where 'neutral' is on the flap dial, draw little tick marks on the case and the dial so you know where 'neutral' is. Then play! Make sure you play with plenty of altitude at first- get used to the changes the 'spoilers' have on the flight characteristics. What you'll find is that the 'spoilers' will increase the rate of descent without a nose down attitude, so there's no real increase of airspeed.
HeartSailor is offline Find More Posts by HeartSailor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Banana Hobby BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer JoshB Electric Plane Talk 12 Feb 14, 2012 11:01 PM
Found Looking for BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Airframe Only or Wing Set cutty01 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 16, 2010 03:16 PM
Discussion BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Aerobatic Flench Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 4 Feb 13, 2010 03:17 PM
Discussion sky surfer powered parachute $29.95 w/ Free shipping interplanet Hot Online Deals 26 Dec 30, 2008 10:58 PM