SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:53 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricClark View Post
Apparently I'm missing something.

You say you will never again use a CC ESC for anything because you're upset that an ESC rated for 30A caught fire when you continually pulled 45A through it!!?

Do you expect that a companies product should be able to withstand any kind of abuse you dish out and not damage your plane?

This does not seem like a good reason to stop using CC products.

Eric
Of course. The CC ESC's come with a temperature control. It failed. That is why they replaced it with another one (which I still have not used). I thing it is obvious - the guarantee did not save the ESC or my plane. I told them exactly what I did and they said nothing and replaced it.

AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:56 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasong911 View Post
I vote with Eric on this one.

It's like taking an empty 12 oz can of beer back to the store and asking for a refund because it wasn't a tall boy.

--Jason
That is silly. It is actually the other way around..... They promised tall boys and.....
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 09:00 PM
Crashasaurus Dumbthumus
road_rascal's Avatar
USA, MN, Apple Valley
Joined Dec 2008
1,506 Posts
Since I'm getting the kit version it looks like the SSS takes a 17g or so servo, correct? I think that these will 'fit the bill'. I saw the post about the EPBuddy 17g servos and these are pretty identical. The EPBuddy ones are out of stock right now. I already have a 60A ESC with a Castle 10A BEC wired to it, now I have to dig through my parts box and find a motor...
road_rascal is offline Find More Posts by road_rascal
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:26 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Lakewood
Joined Jan 2011
257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbaker View Post
That is silly. It is actually the other way around..... They promised tall boys and.....
AJ
Ok, let's cut to the chase here. Why run 45 amps thru a 30 amp ESC? Knowingly? Even if said ESC has temp controls. Is it a test of the temp control?

Size the gear appropriately, I say.

--Jason
Jasong911 is online now Find More Posts by Jasong911
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:31 PM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,867 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasong911 View Post
Ok, let's cut to the chase here. Why run 45 amps thru a 30 amp ESC? Knowingly? Even if said ESC has temp controls. Is it a test of the temp control?

Size the gear appropriately, I say.

--Jason
I agree... My mistake was putting a prop too large for my motor on... Didnt have a good data logger so had to "fly to get better results" and ended way over the specifications.

Now I have a 7-in-1 meter
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:58 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanyote66 View Post
I agree... My mistake was putting a prop too large for my motor on... Didnt have a good data logger so had to "fly to get better results" and ended way over the specifications.

Now I have a 7-in-1 meter
I did the same thing.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:06 AM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasong911 View Post
Ok, let's cut to the chase here. Why run 45 amps thru a 30 amp ESC? Knowingly? Even if said ESC has temp controls. Is it a test of the temp control?

Size the gear appropriately, I say.

--Jason
Why do you ask? Any answer would not help anyone. The important point is to use a watt meter for ANY change in the power system. An ounce of prevention.....
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Last edited by ajbaker; Jan 16, 2013 at 12:10 AM. Reason: add link
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:47 AM
Registered User
United States, CO, Lakewood
Joined Jan 2011
257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbaker View Post
The important point is to use a watt meter for ANY change in the power system. An ounce of prevention.....
AJ
I can get behind that sentiment... Now, if it weren't so Damn Cold, I could go fly...

--Jason
Jasong911 is online now Find More Posts by Jasong911
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:21 AM
AMA - 734492
EricClark's Avatar
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbaker View Post
Why do you ask? Any answer would not help anyone. The important point is to use a watt meter for ANY change in the power system. An ounce of prevention.....
AJ
Agreed.
EricClark is offline Find More Posts by EricClark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:38 AM
AMA - 734492
EricClark's Avatar
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasong911 View Post
I can get behind that sentiment... Now, if it weren't so Damn Cold, I could go fly...

--Jason
No kidding. Its been below zero and I just scouted our flying site... there's a min 3 inches of snow on the entire field with drifts up to 1-2 feet! Guess its time to bust out the skis....

Eric
EricClark is offline Find More Posts by EricClark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:16 AM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,867 Posts
You guys are lucky... Its just raining here, sort of kills flying and rain with 32deg F weather sucks... Just snow already!
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:41 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasong911 View Post
I can get behind that sentiment... Now, if it weren't so Damn Cold, I could go fly...

--Jason
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricClark View Post
No kidding. Its been below zero and I just scouted our flying site... there's a min 3 inches of snow on the entire field with drifts up to 1-2 feet! Guess its time to bust out the skis....

Eric
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanyote66 View Post
You guys are lucky... Its just raining here, sort of kills flying and rain with 32deg F weather sucks... Just snow already!
It is 46degF here and I am going flying this afternoon when it gets up to 54F. California is where you never put away your lawnmower for the winter
AJ
Here is my weather for the week: http://weatherforyou.com/reports/ind...it=Get+Weather
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:29 PM
AMA - 734492
EricClark's Avatar
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,123 Posts
Well rain does suck for sure... probably the worst situation of all.

I just got my tracking info and my SSS should be here Friday! It should fly and land beautifully on the snow we got here, just gotta brave the freezing temperatures.

Yeah... CA has nice weather, but there is fun to be had in the winter/snow that you guys will just rarely if ever experience... and I'm not just talking about airplanes...

Eric
EricClark is offline Find More Posts by EricClark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:54 PM
KG5AWQ
guaglione87's Avatar
United States, TX, Arlington
Joined Apr 2012
648 Posts
Maiden flight today. Boy she flys real slow which will be nice for my fpv setup. Tip stalled and barely caught it, so learned my lesson there. Also it does not seem to handle wind too well. Other than that it flew great
guaglione87 is online now Find More Posts by guaglione87
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
3,528 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfwd View Post
what is the problem with deans ? i know there are copies of the deans and the real ones, i use deans on everything,and if they have a problem,id like to know so i can start switching everything before i have the problem. thanks.
The problem with Deans is the wire attachment method. They depend on a lap solder joint, which is the worst possible way to solder a wire. First there is nothing to support the wire during the soldering process so you really need three hands; one to hold the wire, another to hold the solder and a third to hold the gun or iron. Second, the integrity of the joint depends on contact along just one side of the wire. I have switched to XT-60s. They have cylindrical solder wells that I can fill with solder prior to attaching the wire, and that hold the wire while the solder is cooling, and they provide 360 degree contact between the wire and the connector. In addition the XT-60s are larger and easier to grip.

That aside if you have a large number of them making a switch will entail a lot of work and expense, so might not be worth it for you. Fortunately I made the switch shortly after getting started in RC.
kaptondave is offline Find More Posts by kaptondave
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Banana Hobby BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer JoshB Electric Plane Talk 12 Feb 14, 2012 11:01 PM
Found Looking for BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Airframe Only or Wing Set cutty01 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 16, 2010 03:16 PM
Discussion BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Aerobatic Flench Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 4 Feb 13, 2010 03:17 PM
Discussion sky surfer powered parachute $29.95 w/ Free shipping interplanet Hot Online Deals 26 Dec 30, 2008 10:58 PM