HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 06, 2012, 02:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,404 Posts
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/1602a-1...51977?item=120

This one would be cool right? (probably the backlight can be turned off?)
msev is online now Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 07, 2012, 04:48 AM
Registered User
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Joined Dec 2007
607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/1602a-1...51977?item=120

This one would be cool right? (probably the backlight can be turned off?)
You have to be careful with turning backlight off on some LCD's as they can become less readable. The contrast ratio could be low.

Buy one without backlighting is my advice.

Ian.
IanJ is offline Find More Posts by IanJ
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 12:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanJ View Post
There are a couple of ways, but here's how I like to do it:-

Unzip the library and place the folder containing the files here, i.e. alongside all the other libraries that come with Arduino by default:-

\Program Files\arduino-1.0\libraries

The path may vary slightly depending on the version of the Arduino IDE you have installed. It MUST be either V1.0 or V1.1(latest). You'll never touch that folder again. Then restart the IDE if you have it open.

You'll know it worked when you come to upload my code to your Arduino board and it doesn't error. If you do get errors and they seem to refer to the library then you haven't dropped it in the right place.

Note: You can try uploading even without building anything.......just connect your bare Arduino Mega to your PC then upload the code!

Ian.



Hi Ian.
Very nice project. After that I went looking for.
Unfortunately I have problems to verify the sketch.
I have the latest version of Arduino (1.0.1). The Libary is stored at the location described by you
\ Program Files \ arduino-1.0 \ libraries

I do not know what I'm doing wrong. Please help me.



Here are the error messages:

In file included from RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1.cpp: 27:
/ Le3dp_rptparser.h: 18:22: error: printhex.h: No such file or directory
/ Le3dp_rptparser.h: 19:21: error: hexdump.h: No such file or directory
/ Le3dp_rptparser.h: 20:21: error: message.h: No such file or directory
/ Le3dp_rptparser.h: 21:28: error: confdescparser.h: No such file or directory
In file included from RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1.cpp: 27:
le3dp_rptparser.h: 48: error: expected class-name before token '{'
le3dp_rptparser.h: 56: error: 'HID' has not been declared
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 34: error: 'USB' does not name a type
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 35: error: 'USB hub' does not name a type
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 36: error: 'HIDUniversal' does not name a type
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1.cpp: In function 'void setup ()':
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 117: error: 'usb' was not declared in this scope
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 119: error: 'Hid' was not declared in this scope
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 119: error: 'Error Message' was not declared in this scope
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 119: error: expected primary-expression before token '>'
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1.cpp: In function 'void loop ()':
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1: 190: error: 'usb' was not declared in this scope
RCJoystickTx_USB_LE3DP_ArdMega_IDEV1.cpp: At global scope:
le3dp_rptparser: 14: error: variable or field 'Parse' declared void
le3dp_rptparser: 14: error: 'HID' was not declared in this scope
le3dp_rptparser: 14: error: 'hid' was not declared in this scope
le3dp_rptparser: 14: error: expected primary-expression before 'bool'
le3dp_rptparser: 14: error: expected primary-expression before 'len'
le3dp_rptparser: 14: error: expected primary-expression before token '*'
le3dp_rptparser: 14: error: 'buf' was not declared in this scope


Best regards
Sizilianer
Sizilianer is offline Find More Posts by Sizilianer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 12:45 PM
Registered User
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Joined Dec 2007
607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sizilianer View Post
Hi Ian.
Very nice project. After that I went looking for.
Unfortunately I have problems to verify the sketch.
I have the latest version of Arduino (1.0.1). The Libary is stored at the location described by you
\ Program Files \ arduino-1.0 \ libraries

I do not know what I'm doing wrong. Please help me.
Looks like the library isn't installed correctly.

You should have a path like this,
\Program Files\arduino-1.0\libraries\USBHostShield2
And in that folder should be a load of files.

Ian.
IanJ is offline Find More Posts by IanJ
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 05:32 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanJ View Post
Looks like the library isn't installed correctly.

You should have a path like this,
\Program Files\arduino-1.0\libraries\USBHostShield2
And in that folder should be a load of files.

Ian.
Ahhhhhhhhh!
Now it works. My mistake.

Thanks a lot.

Sizilianer
Sizilianer is offline Find More Posts by Sizilianer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 03:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
4 Posts
New user!

Hi to all
What a brilliant idea!
I have right now ordered all the items on Ebay.
I worked with PIC and AVRs, but I'm new to Arduino
Can Jan or some other expert please explain me what he means with:
....Usb Host Shield library, so make sure you copy it to the correct place.
Stupid question, sorry.....
As soon as I receive parts I will build it
Now I'm building a "classical" RC encoder with an Atmel 168 and LCD 2x16
PS: the box seems quite good, what model is it?
Paul
anode is offline Find More Posts by anode
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 04:31 AM
Registered User
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Joined Dec 2007
607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by anode View Post
Hi to all
....Usb Host Shield library, so make sure you copy it to the correct place.
PS: the box seems quite good, what model is it?
Paul
Copy the Usb Host Shield library folder complete with files to \libraries which you will find in the Arduino folder under Program Files.

The box I got from Ebay, just a cheap no-name brand.

Ian.
IanJ is offline Find More Posts by IanJ
Last edited by IanJ; Sep 29, 2012 at 04:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 03:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
4 Posts
...upgrades.....

Thank you Jan for ultra fast support
As a stupid person here I'm asking you for upgrades :http://static.rcgroups.com/forums/im...s/rolleyes.gif
Will you in future consider a GLCD ( as modern commercial RC systems)
.......colour, touch screen, 3D, etc etc.....
...sorry, I have a problem with my keyboard....http://static.rcgroups.com/forums/im...es/biggrin.gif
have a nice day
Paul
anode is offline Find More Posts by anode
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 05:17 AM
Registered User
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Joined Dec 2007
607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by anode View Post
Thank you Jan for ultra fast support
As a stupid person here I'm asking you for upgrades :http://static.rcgroups.com/forums/im...s/rolleyes.gif
Will you in future consider a GLCD ( as modern commercial RC systems)
.......colour, touch screen, 3D, etc etc.....
...sorry, I have a problem with my keyboard....http://static.rcgroups.com/forums/im...es/biggrin.gif
have a nice day
Paul
Hi,

Whilst a graphics LCD would be nice it would be a ton of work, so unfortunately I won't be taking that project on................maybe somebody else will though!

Ian.
IanJ is offline Find More Posts by IanJ
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 07:09 PM
Registered User
charlienofun's Avatar
United States, CA, Santa Clara
Joined Mar 2008
374 Posts
Hey Ian, I was reading on DIYDrones the other day and I realized that there are Arduino mega's with built in USB host shields intended for use as Anrdoid ADK. The circuits at home library supports these boards as well. I haven't read through all your V3 code yet or really gotten familiar with the circuits at home library but it would be one less thing to order if it is possible to run your codebase on that board. I'd like to build as small as possible to just stick right on the back of my Futaba, let me know if you have already thought about this... I might just "buy it now" and find out the hard way

Check these out

Generic ADK clone ($36.00 shipped...)

Seeduino ADK board (just bigger than standard UNO board but really expensive..)
charlienofun is offline Find More Posts by charlienofun
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 01:28 AM
Registered User
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Joined Dec 2007
607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlienofun View Post
Hey Ian, I was reading on DIYDrones the other day and I realized that there are Arduino mega's with built in USB host shields intended for use as Anrdoid ADK. The circuits at home library supports these boards as well. I haven't read through all your V3 code yet or really gotten familiar with the circuits at home library but it would be one less thing to order if it is possible to run your codebase on that board. I'd like to build as small as possible to just stick right on the back of my Futaba, let me know if you have already thought about this... I might just "buy it now" and find out the hard way
When I looked at the ADK before it looked as though the Circuits @ Home library would NOT run on it (going by reports from other users). However, I haven't tested..............

For info, what I have tested though are the following:

- DFRobot DFR0138
- Circuits@Home Rev 2.0
- Tinyos Rev 2

Ian.
IanJ is offline Find More Posts by IanJ
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:38 AM
Registered User
dathird313's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
76 Posts
This is really cool to see you having progressed this far with this project.

I built one similar a while back:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/newre...e=1&p=22899639

If you want the absolute smallest package at the cheapest price consider
$18.95 https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11114?
plus
$20.00 http://www.circuitsathome.com/produc...duino-pro-mini

I don't see the need for the mega since theres so many buttons available on whatever joystick you are using, and the MAX3421E provides extra pins to use as output for an LCD.

just my $0.02
dathird313 is offline Find More Posts by dathird313
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 11:12 AM
Registered User
charlienofun's Avatar
United States, CA, Santa Clara
Joined Mar 2008
374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dathird313 View Post
This is really cool to see you having progressed this far with this project.

I built one similar a while back:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/newre...e=1&p=22899639

If you want the absolute smallest package at the cheapest price consider
$18.95 https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11114?
plus
$20.00 http://www.circuitsathome.com/produc...duino-pro-mini

I don't see the need for the mega since theres so many buttons available on whatever joystick you are using, and the MAX3421E provides extra pins to use as output for an LCD.

just my $0.02
@Dathird Thanks for the suggestions! I have been eyeing that 3v mini version of the USB Host shield but I wasn't sure how big a deal it would be to port the code to run at 8mhz. Also in Ians first post he says he needs the extra timers on the 1280/2560 atmel chip I think.

Either way I'd really like to try and build one small enough to install inside my Futaba radio, I won't need the display and I tend to do all my mixing and trims in the futaba then let it apply them via its buddy box / trainer functions.

This weekend I'm going to have some down time so I am going to get familiar with this version code and the circuits at home lib. Also need to put my V2 version of this project back together
charlienofun is offline Find More Posts by charlienofun
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 12:57 PM
Registered User
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Joined Dec 2007
607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlienofun View Post
@Dathird Thanks for the suggestions! I have been eyeing that 3v mini version of the USB Host shield but I wasn't sure how big a deal it would be to port the code to run at 8mhz. Also in Ians first post he says he needs the extra timers on the 1280/2560 atmel chip I think.

Either way I'd really like to try and build one small enough to install inside my Futaba radio, I won't need the display and I tend to do all my mixing and trims in the futaba then let it apply them via its buddy box / trainer functions.

This weekend I'm going to have some down time so I am going to get familiar with this version code and the circuits at home lib. Also need to put my V2 version of this project back together
Timer 1 = PPM Gen (11,12)
Timer 2 = USB Host Shield (9,10)
Timer 3 = ISR (subroutine timing)

Timer 3 is the one you need to get rid if if you want to open up the code to other Arduino's.

Ian.
IanJ is offline Find More Posts by IanJ
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 01:18 PM
Registered User
charlienofun's Avatar
United States, CA, Santa Clara
Joined Mar 2008
374 Posts
Ian, Thanks again! I was just taking a break from work and looking at the code again that was exactly what I wanted to confirm

Did you see the Arduino DUE is going to be out by the end of the month? its got a way to do USB host on the M3 chip they are using! Good stuff!!
charlienofun is offline Find More Posts by charlienofun
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion RC Radio Tx - Re-inventing the wheel! IanJ DIY Electronics 345 Mar 18, 2013 02:44 PM
Sold Immersion RC 600mW 5.8 TX Version 1 $50 shipped. nybeechpilot FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 02, 2012 06:36 PM
Discussion Re inventing the internal combustion engine UlteriorModem Life, The Universe, and Politics 10 Apr 11, 2012 05:24 AM
Discussion Re-inventing the wheel philgib Blimps 5 May 25, 2006 06:42 PM
Wanted WTB AeroFly Professional Deluxe USB Interface Version RC Flight Simulator for futaba heliguy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 20, 2005 02:21 PM