HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 12, 2012, 10:34 PM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Aug 2007
4,019 Posts
I just installed my ORX Stabilizer in a Parkzone P51.
What effect will the Stabilizer have on hand launching?
Rn
A Rdnek is online now Find More Posts by A Rdnek
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 13, 2012, 03:19 AM
madjeff
sssss18's Avatar
United Kingdom, Stockton-on-Tees
Joined Mar 2008
543 Posts
i would think it will make hand launching easier id say. the gyro will help the plane from dropping a wing or nose down IMO.
sssss18 is offline Find More Posts by sssss18
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 06:34 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,593 Posts
RCPowers have posted a diagram of wiring up the Orange Stabiliser on their Ikon A5 that might be useful to some folks.

http://rcpowers.com/v2/OrangeRX_Flight_Stabilizer.pdf

The review is here

http://www.rcpowers.com/community/th...1/#post-142443
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 06:52 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2010
29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dav3uk View Post
I am assuming you used an external mixer after the Orange box not a TX built in one

Dave
yes, I did not use elevon mixing in the Radio TX.
RANTHM is offline Find More Posts by RANTHM
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 09:50 AM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Aug 2007
4,019 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604 View Post
RCPowers have posted a diagram of wiring up the Orange Stabiliser on their Ikon A5 that might be useful to some folks.

[url]http://rcpowers.com/v2/OrangeRX_Flight_Stabilizer.pdf[/url]

The review is here

http://www.rcpowers.com/community/th...1/#post-142443
That is an excellent drawing, Thanks for posting that. Printed it right out and got it on the wall in my shop.
Interesting way they do the BEC. Another good way to get things done.
Rn
A Rdnek is online now Find More Posts by A Rdnek
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 09:57 AM
R.C. Aviation Fanatic
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2009
21,021 Posts
Is this not a RX as well?

Why RCP have it wires into separate RX?
Razors edge 29 is online now Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 10:04 AM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Aug 2007
4,019 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razors edge 29 View Post
Is this not a RX as well?

Why RCP have it wires into separate RX?
The ORX stabilizer is NOT an RX, It is a stand alone AS3X type unit, that can be used with your existing RX, what ever it is.
Ron
A Rdnek is online now Find More Posts by A Rdnek
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 11:27 AM
R.C. Aviation Fanatic
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2009
21,021 Posts
Is this not a RX as well?

Why RCP have it wires into separate RX?
Razors edge 29 is online now Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 11:50 AM
Curiouser and curiouser
Kokopeli's Avatar
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Oct 2005
2,062 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604 View Post
RCPowers have posted a diagram of wiring up the Orange Stabiliser on their Ikon A5 that might be useful to some folks.

http://rcpowers.com/v2/OrangeRX_Flight_Stabilizer.pdf

The review is here

http://www.rcpowers.com/community/th...1/#post-142443
That diagram using a BEC looks like it could be problematic.
The stabilizer will have TWO power sources - from the Rx AND BEC. If they are not real close to the same voltage, the higher voltage power source will be driving current back into the lower voltage power source, won't it? Seems to me you would need to cut all of the servo positive power lines between the Rx and the stabilzer if you are going to connect a BEC, eh?

Walt
Kokopeli is offline Find More Posts by Kokopeli
Last edited by Kokopeli; Aug 13, 2012 at 12:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 11:53 AM
R.C. Aviation Fanatic
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2009
21,021 Posts
Ah okay

Thanks For clarifying ron
Razors edge 29 is online now Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 11:57 AM
Curiouser and curiouser
Kokopeli's Avatar
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Oct 2005
2,062 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dav3uk View Post
.....
I have a small depron own design 3ch Cub for light wind days and giving the odd lesson on I will try in that next if the wind dies down from 20mph+

Dave
I will be real interested to hear how this unit works with a 3 ch plane (only 2 axies of control).
Maybe the yaw sensitivity will match the roll close enough that the lack of ailrons will not be a problem for the inslatlled firmware. Or maybe we will need to wait for some of these clever microcontroller programmers to hack this unit and provide FW to make 2 axis control work well, eh?

Walt
Kokopeli is offline Find More Posts by Kokopeli
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 12:11 PM
Curiouser and curiouser
Kokopeli's Avatar
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Oct 2005
2,062 Posts
I am happy to report that even though they were out of stock when I ordered two units on Aug 1st, they arrived today. Just 12 days, along with the double ended male extenders.
Thanks, y'all for the info on this thread. Now just gotta find the time to try them out.

Of course I was curious about the orientation of the unit.
I found it funny that the appearant arrows/logo on the case were contradictory.
The one on the top pointed 180 degrees out of agreement with the one on the bottom.
But looking that the photos provided here by a user posted picture of the PCB with the case off,
it clearly shows a white arrow near the sensor chip. That arrow agrees with the Logo/arrow that is on the top of the case - if you consider the top to be the side that has the connection pins exposed.

Walt
Kokopeli is offline Find More Posts by Kokopeli
Last edited by Kokopeli; Aug 13, 2012 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 12:31 PM
numnutchris
Joined Sep 2009
415 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjbite View Post
That diagram using a BEC looks like it could be problematic.
The stabilizer will have TWO power sources - from the Rx AND BEC. If they are not real close to the same voltage, the higher voltage power source will be driving current back into the lower voltage power source, won't it? Seems to me you would need to cut all of the servo positive power lines between the Rx and the stabilzer if you are going to connect a BEC, eh?

Walt
Not if the icon uses an opto...
But youre right of course, normally only a builtin BEC would power it all from the THR wire, both Rx and FC.
numnutchris is offline Find More Posts by numnutchris
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 01:38 PM
Bona Fide Cub Nut
CurtissP40's Avatar
Northwest Oregon
Joined Jan 2006
599 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjbite View Post
I will be real interested to hear how this unit works with a 3 ch plane (only 2 axies of control).<SNIP/>Walt
Me too.
I have a powered RES sailplane that I would like to try the ORX in.
CurtissP40 is offline Find More Posts by CurtissP40
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 03:05 PM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Aug 2007
4,019 Posts
I read somewhere that someone was using this type (not an ORX )stabilizer in a Radian. I will see if I can find the post.
Rn
A Rdnek is online now Find More Posts by A Rdnek
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 3 axis stabilizer by HK Early Electric Plane Talk 17 Nov 18, 2012 02:11 PM
New Product OrangeRX 3-Axis Flight Stabilizer 14g (advertised) nemoskull Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 7 Sep 21, 2012 09:50 PM
Discussion Eagle A3 Aeroplane Fixed-wing Micro Flight Controller Board W/ MEMS 3-axis gyro eyeinsky1 Aerial Photography 3 Jun 06, 2012 03:38 PM
Sold CPD-4 Co-Pilot 2 axis flight stabilization system ecampos FPV Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 26, 2011 01:34 PM
Discussion ******* 3 axis gyro stabilized video gimbal powerblimp Aerial Photography 10 Feb 23, 2006 06:00 AM