SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 30, 2012, 06:59 PM
Joined May 2012
139 Posts
Discussion
What is a Good Lipo Charger?

Hey Guys, I did a quick search in the "Batteries and Chargers" section and didn't find what i was looking for. please link me or move this thread if it is redundant and in that case sorry!

Otherwise this is the issue -

I am still new to RC planes and am gathering a plethora of hardware among these are batteries! I'm up to about 6 batteries between my planes and radio all of which are Li-Po ranging from 7.4v to 6s. except one NiMH. I am looking for a charger than can charge multiple batteries and will work with this entire voltage range and battery types. If one doesn't exist then any advice regarding something close would be greatly appreciated!

I'm looking for any recommendations or advice. Links would be especially appreciated as I'm going to be purchasing soon and am still learning a lot and would love to read up on any info I can get. Even the guys at the hobby store didn't seem to know a whole lot about this so I'm feeling as though i could make an easy / dangerous mistake.

Thanks, hope to hear back!
sykmethodz is offline Find More Posts by sykmethodz
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 30, 2012, 08:25 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
You don't mention your packs capacities.

I have always thought if you are charging 6S packs much over 2500mAH you are a candidate for a high output charger.
You will have enough power to charge several at a time quickly (3 - 5C).

There are only 2 high output chargers out there to look at.
Power Labs and iCharger.
Both require at least 24v DC power supplies.

You can use about any charger made but how much time do you want to spend charging batteries?

You can never have a charger that is too big but you sure can have a charger that is too small.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter