HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 30, 2012, 12:58 PM
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Discussion
First Gas RC Plane!!!

Hey guys, I'm new to RC Planes. I've been driving cars all my life but have always been in love with RC Planes. I'm from the Caribbean and I've never seen any here except for cars and boats so that's why it took me this long before attempting to have a go at them. I love building stuff and I'm pretty good at it. I plan on going with a cheap electric trainer to be safe (I'm a quick learner) but at the same time I want to begin building a gas model. I'm looking for an airframe that will last me a long time (unless I crash), something that is versatile, something 3D. I'm looking at RedwingRC, ChiefAircraft etc. Please help me make a start in building my Giant Gas RC. I'm also looking at a DLE 30cc or the newer PTE engines.

PS: I've been researching this for about two years now and I'm going all the way even.
musicminister187 is offline Find More Posts by musicminister187
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 31, 2012, 10:43 AM
United States, SD
Joined Aug 2010
1,061 Posts
Don't start out with a 3D gas or nitro plane. The most "advanced trainer" that I would go with is a Sig Four Star 40 (if you want to go the kit route) or an escapade (if you want to go the arf route). Alot of beginners don't realise that you cannot just go buy a $2000 dollar plane and expect to be able to fly it. Start with a $300 dollar NITRO plane, not gas, gas engines are expensive and for the bigger planes that you need to wait to get into. Unless you are swimming in cash and can afford to be wrecking you plane the first time out, gas is not the way for you. Try finding a club in your area, they will help get you started.
Kyler1 is offline Find More Posts by Kyler1
Old Aug 01, 2012, 10:49 AM
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylerdinger View Post