HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 29, 2012, 03:03 PM
You Enjoy Myself
United States, NC, New Bern
Joined Jul 2012
77 Posts
Discussion
DJI F450 with NAZA-M. What are my options?

Hello all. This is my first post on this forum. I'm an RC novice and after reading up on multi rotors for the past week, I've decided to dive in and take a stab at the DJI F450.

I've been reading a lot and have found several threads that are helpful.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1536553
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1097355

I realize people make "I'm a beginner!" posts all the time and some of them probably haven't researched or read as much as they could. But I have some more specific questions about my options at this point that may help others as well as myself.

I'm willing to spend $1-1.5k for a complete F450 RTF setup with camera gimbal and decent TX/RX.

1. I know NAZA- M was recently released. How is this different from NAZA? Same thing, different name? Software upgrade? Hardware upgrade?

2. What's a decent "almost pro" camera gimbal with landing gear for the F450 using a GoPro Hero2? Using the Sony Nex-5n? Not looking for top of the line pro gear, but I want a great product that provides very minimal shaking. Willing to spend around $500 here.

3. Like everybody else, I want to keep vibrations to a minimum. Besides the camera gimbal, naza and experience/knowledge of how to fly in any given situation, what else can I do to minimize vibration to get good AP results?

4. I'd be willing to get a simple but suitable TX and RX, but would it be worthwhile to get something like the Futaba 8FG Super if I plan on developing this hobby and get other MRs later down the road? Or should I wait to get better and more MRs before I go with a higher end TX?

Can't find this info anywhere - difference between Futaba 8FG and T8FG?

5. With an average setup, what's the average maximum distance one can fly the F450? Average maximum height?