New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jul 29, 2012, 06:07 AM
Marvos is offline
Find More Posts by Marvos
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
83 Posts
Help!
Connecting the Turnigy 9x receiver

I bought the Turnigy 9x 9ch TX with the included receiver.

This is my first time building my own quadrocopter, or any RC craft. I have searched and found only advanced questions and answers, but none as basic as mine. The online manual didn't help as well.

I'm looking at the pins and I'm wondering how I'm supposed to connect it.

Is the top pin Signal, middle + and lowest ground?

Is it enough if I connect only one set of cables for it to get enough power?
Can I do that through the FC board, where the board has markings "5V" and "GND"?

Which channel is which control on the Tx?
ie. is the throttle stick channel 1? what channels are the other sticks?
Marvos is offline Find More Posts by Marvos
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 29, 2012, 09:29 AM
TheFernMan is online now
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,233 Posts
Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1343572123.806322.jpg
Views: 1536
Size: 137.4 KB
Description:
Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1343572141.542015.jpg
Views: 1136
Size: 152.0 KB
Description:
9X receiver.
KK2.0 board.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 09:35 AM
TheFernMan is online now
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,233 Posts
From the board: For me the ground is on the outside of my board. So brown is ground. Red is positive in the middle and yellow is signal on the right.

From the receiver: inside pin (yellow) is signal, middle (red) is positive and outside pin (brown) is ground.

For me, I didn't know which direction either but if the positive is in the middle. So I plugged it in wrong and I just didn't get signal to the board. So I just flipped it and it worked. No damage was done.

Aileron ch1
Elevator ch2
Throttle ch3
Rudder ch4

Ch5-8 are optional for example setting the Switches to self level or control servos and stuff.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Last edited by TheFernMan; Jul 29, 2012 at 09:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 09:37 AM
TheFernMan is online now
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,233 Posts
You only need one channel to power the receiver. I think lol. I mean, I've connect just one and it works. I have tried just connect ground, positive and signal on channel one and just signal on the rest.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:55 AM
Marvos is offline
Find More Posts by Marvos
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
83 Posts
Thanks for the reply and the pics. This is exactly what I wanted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan View Post
I have tried just connect ground, positive and signal on channel one and just signal on the rest.
That's what I thought and planned to do. Thanks again
Marvos is offline Find More Posts by Marvos
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 11:19 AM
TheFernMan is online now
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,233 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvos View Post
That's what I thought and planned to do. Thanks again
Sorry I meant to say that I HAVEN'T tried just signal to the rest.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 11:32 AM
OCaerial is offline
Find More Posts by OCaerial
AKA Kornholio
OCaerial's Avatar
United States, CA, San Clemente
Joined Jan 2010
42 Posts
I use one 3-wire servo cable to supply power and ground to RX then use 24ga jumper wires on the rest of the channels. I do this with all my multi's and works great.

24AWG 1pin Dual-Female Jumper Wire Cable
OCaerial is offline Find More Posts by OCaerial
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2012, 11:31 AM
Marvos is offline
Find More Posts by Marvos
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
83 Posts
So basically one set of power cables is enough to power it? Thanks.
Marvos is offline Find More Posts by Marvos
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2012, 12:11 PM
TheFernMan is online now
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,233 Posts
Yup basically.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2014, 04:09 PM
nckrwlmn is offline
Find More Posts by nckrwlmn
Registered User
Joined Jun 2014
19 Posts
can you supply 12 volts direct to the rx or not?
nckrwlmn is offline Find More Posts by nckrwlmn
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2014, 05:54 PM
TheFernMan is online now
Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,233 Posts
no its like 5v unless you want to try and burn it
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2015, 12:40 AM
nckrwlmn is offline
Find More Posts by nckrwlmn
Registered User
Joined Jun 2014
19 Posts
can i plug power into the reciever from a separate UBEC and leave the power wires to the APM 2.5 still plugged in? Will that damage the board if i already have a power module powering the board?
nckrwlmn is offline Find More Posts by nckrwlmn
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 06:41 PM
kryptonnic is offline
Find More Posts by kryptonnic
Registered User
Joined Apr 2015
8 Posts
How does one setup the controller (transmitter) for a quadcopter? I have a Turnigy 9x Transmitter and Receiver.

I am also running Steveis 1.12S1 software on my kk2.1 flight controller. Nothing is setup, I would appreciate some guidance. Thank you.
kryptonnic is offline Find More Posts by kryptonnic
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Turnigy 9XC8-V2 Receivers For Turnigy/Flysky/Eurgle 9X TX Running V2 Firmware Skywalker14 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jan 06, 2015 08:37 PM
Discussion How to connect FlySky th9x/ Turnigy 9x to flight simulator ??? HEEELLPPP!! JetJohny Radios 8 Nov 07, 2014 09:15 AM
Discussion Turnigy 9x, Two modules Connected to One Radio CoolBudz Radios 2 Jul 01, 2012 10:11 PM
Help! Problem connecting servos with tx of Turnigy 9x jaimevent Radios 6 Jun 23, 2012 11:39 PM
Question Turnigy 9x to ClearView Sim connection seawitch43 Electric Plane Talk 0 Aug 14, 2011 11:24 AM