SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 27, 2012, 08:51 AM
United States, IL, Bloomington
Joined Jun 2012
14 Posts
Build Log
Conversion: Older import wood boat

So this is my first build log here. Have some questions to go along with the initial post, and probably will have more along the process. Hope that's allowed.

So being new to the RC boat, and being interested in scale models, more so than the go fast types, I figured I need to develop/hone some skills before I move onto the more difficult details in the future. I have a springer started, but only the hull so far, and I would like to make the superstructure detailed and nice, but don't have any experience with that yet. So I thought this kind of project would be a good one to start with.

The base of the project is an imported toy boat of some sort. I an not sure of the wood type. It could be balsa, or another one of the softer, light wood's like Paulowina. It actually started out with a motor, and a rudder, as well as a little light, so it should be pretty easy. I think the tough part is going to be turning the existing tube for the prop shaft into a stuffing box.

Below are some pictures of it as I got it. I think it was a home to a mouse for some time. Unfortunately, the "life preserver" on the top deck is missing. The other issue is that the deck is off center from the hull. I don't think it was done on purpose as there is some cracking in the paint at joints in the front.

So my to do list is as follows:
  • Reset the deck in the center of the hull
  • Turn prop shaft tube into a stuffing box
  • Install new prop and prop shaft
  • Install new motor/esc/rx/batt
  • Modify/replace rudder
  • Install steering servo, pass linkage through transom
  • Replace on deck life preserver
  • Update lights to correct scale-ish Red/Green front, all around white rear.
  • Repair windshield so its seated properly
  • Repaint - new paint scheme