SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 26, 2012, 02:22 PM
Joined Jul 2012
3 Posts
Help!
O.K Cub 074

Hi all,
Just registered and it's my first time on the forum.
I got an ok cub 074 from eBay,it's from the 50's and looked as it had some rough time.
first time i ran it - (15%nitro) flip the prop twice - and it was runnig like new!!!
this "heaven" last five flight and then it stoped!
I put a brand new glow plug,fresh fule, fully charged glow plug heater......nothing!!!
the engine won't start !
when i flip the prop i do get a back fire,but thats all .
i tried using electric starter and try to over flow fule just to let it run for fue seconds........no good.
dose eny one have a clue?
Appreciate your help
Regards
Joseph
joseph2364 is offline Find More Posts by joseph2364
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2012, 03:11 PM
Sweden
Joined Jan 2008
990 Posts
What fuel did you use?
These oldschool engines need all castor fuel, and plenty of it...
surfer_kris is online now Find More Posts by surfer_kris
Old Jul 26, 2012, 06:59 PM
amherst,nova scotia,canada
Joined Nov 2003
787 Posts
Five full tanks of fuel with synthetic oil fuel are not really good. Do you still seem to have good compression? Castor oil is pretty well mandatory for these old engines regardless of what people say if you want a long lifespan. I learnt this the hard way myself years ago.
barry wilson is offline Find More Posts by barry wilson
Old Jul 26, 2012, 11:37 PM
Joined Jul 2012
3 Posts
O.K Cub 074

Thanks for the response ,
I use a self bland fule consist of 15% nitro 20% castor oil and the res is metahnol.
compering to another cub 074 i have , compresion seems good!!
Old Jul 27, 2012, 09:01 AM
Western KY
Joined Sep 2003
1,610 Posts
Your fuel blend is just fine --- the lubricant package is very appropriate for this engine.

Since your engine ran fine for five runs, seems to have good compression and has a new plug, there are two other possibilities that come to mind.