HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:06 AM
Registered User
WhalleyB0Y's Avatar
Canada, BC, Surrey
Joined Jul 2011
891 Posts
@ MikePS, I bought those same motors for a different twin 70mm project I got going. I must say that they really put out some huge power and some high rpm's. In fact I am still having issues with just the bench testing phase. I am using 6s 45c 3000mAh, CC Ice Lites 100A, WeMo fans and I have added capacitor packs to my battery leads. All the wiring is 10awg silicone except for the motor pigtails which I think are 14awg. I tried to make 5mm to 3.5mm adaptors but I thought with all the solder, connectors and extra wire it would introduce unwanted resistance. The choke point will always be at the thinnest wire so I decided to solder them together without connectors. I also found my controllers needed really good cooling so i put them into the thrust tubes. I had one controller burst into flames after a brief throttle ramp up and I am still unsure why. The other provided data logs that looked good actually so I am going to blame my solder job for now.

Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1348070573.573307.jpg
Views: 268
Size: 144.7 KB
Description:

I was getting roughly 1200 watts @ 35 amps and the temps where staying cool until I shut it down then it gets really hot. I think this setup in a Habu will be awesome if you can contain it and use good throttle management.
WhalleyB0Y is offline Find More Posts by WhalleyB0Y
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:53 AM
Ginger or MaryAnn ??
fh64_lucky's Avatar
United States, TX, Garland
Joined May 2005
3,336 Posts
I think the 3 wires are 14g, but I changed mine to 12g silicone just to be safe,it could only help I figured..Go with the 3300 batteries,it wont make it too heavy and flightimes will be longer..
fh64_lucky is offline Find More Posts by fh64_lucky
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 19, 2012, 12:38 PM
AMA 983978
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Sep 2011
186 Posts
Thanks WhalleyBoy, fh64_lucky. I use the "esc in the intake" method, I think cooling shouldn't be an issue.
I looked at the motor wires again while home for lunch, I agree, they probably are 14ga... I'm reluctant to change the wires tho.
I'm sure the 3300's will give me longer flight times, its just that I got the 2600's at such a good price I gotta use em
MikePS is online now Find More Posts by MikePS
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 01:01 PM
Ginger or MaryAnn ??
fh64_lucky's Avatar
United States, TX, Garland
Joined May 2005
3,336 Posts
Its easy to change them,Tape 3 new wires to ends of old wires and gently pull them through,pushing and pulling slowly.they will go through if you want to try...
fh64_lucky is offline Find More Posts by fh64_lucky
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 19, 2012, 01:06 PM
AMA 983978
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Sep 2011
186 Posts
You're talking about the wires in the fuse of the habu....got it. I thought you were referring to the wires coming out of the motor....
MikePS is online now Find More Posts by MikePS
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 03:37 PM
Ginger or MaryAnn ??
fh64_lucky's Avatar
United States, TX, Garland
Joined May 2005
3,336 Posts
Yes,the three wires coming out of motor that run inside of fuse,12g wire will fit through channel.If you are reloacting ESC to intake area,this is not such a big deal,my CC 160 sits in stock location so I use the heavier wire to handle the 120 plus amps I am sending through...
fh64_lucky is offline Find More Posts by fh64_lucky
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by fh64_lucky; Sep 19, 2012 at 04:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 05:31 PM
Registered User
WhalleyB0Y's Avatar
Canada, BC, Surrey
Joined Jul 2011
891 Posts
....way way back in an old post I had some troubles with my Habu and it resulted in me shipping my entire plane back to the HH service center.
I got news today that they replaced my plane with a new one and they had just shipped it.

Recap: some kind if intermitent loss of throttle/ power shortly after take off. Technician notes suggest a possible abnormal current draw from servos or retracts. Possible binding? They could not locate the problem and chose to replace the plane.
WhalleyB0Y is offline Find More Posts by WhalleyB0Y
Last edited by WhalleyB0Y; Sep 19, 2012 at 11:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 05:53 PM
Ginger or MaryAnn ??
fh64_lucky's Avatar
United States, TX, Garland
Joined May 2005
3,336 Posts
Had 1 servo short,over amp BEC,that shorted and took out everything including receiver and rest of servos,it was a costly but unavoidable thing that messed me up one day.Glad it wasnt flying when it happened.....
fh64_lucky is offline Find More Posts by fh64_lucky
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 22, 2012, 06:42 AM
Registered User
Bristol, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Oct 2004
49 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by efflux RC View Post
The Stock motor is 3200kv. A 3600-3700kv motor would be considered "semi Hot" for 4s,( Velocity 2860-2700 or MEGA 16/35/1) and give you a bit more power (in the stock fan).

the E-Flite rotor are good, but they do NOT come balanced from the factory.
Put your rotor on a prop balancer to see...then static balance it, and use the "clock" method to get as smooth as you can by rotating the 45* then running it up slowly (at the same rpm every time) and feel for the smoothest position.
Do this at 3s power and low rpms only.

We can also assemble and Dynamically balance any (new) setup for you.
http://www.effluxrc.com/Assemble-and...ance-ASBAL.htm

I don't have the E-Flite 70mm EDF's yet. You can send me a new one, or the Wemotec Minifan or HET 6904 is a good a choice.

Make yourself a mylar thrust Tube that's 2.1" dia at the outlet for low cost added speed.
The stock foam outlet is 2 3/8" is tooo big for top end speed, but fine if it's just high thrust that you want

With Mega 16/35/1 motor

Can I use the stock collet, and ESC.?

On 4s

ONS
ons_pk is offline Find More Posts by ons_pk
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 01:25 PM
efflux RC's Avatar
United States, CA, Santa Clarita
Joined Aug 2009
8,563 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ons_pk View Post
With Mega 16/35/1 motor

Can I use the stock collet, and ESC.?

On 4s

ONS
The motor will fit the fan and the collet dia (4mm). you may need to shorten the shaft and add a flat.
You will need at least a 75 ESC for 4s. I would put a 100A in there (ICE 100) to be ready for 5s, when you desire more power.
efflux RC is offline Find More Posts by efflux RC
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Updated blog Jan 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:07 PM
Registered User
shung1's Avatar
Joined Jan 2011
133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shung1 View Post
Habu 2 6S......coming soon!
Getting there slowly.....nearly ready!
shung1 is offline Find More Posts by shung1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:13 PM
Ginger or MaryAnn ??
fh64_lucky's Avatar
United States, TX, Garland
Joined May 2005
3,336 Posts
Sweet!! You might want to move the fan back farther to counter the 6s lipo.My receiver is sitting on wing under 2s lipo all were the foam align block for wing to fuse is also.Keeps battery area tidy without all servo wires strung through.
Ah,its hard to see but it looks like you did same as me...
fh64_lucky is offline Find More Posts by fh64_lucky
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:31 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,355 Posts
How about a SAPAC MB1 (3200 kv) motor and Sapac fan on a 5S?

Here are some test results:
5S Sapac rotor
  • 20.95v-18.17v,
  • 99.45A,
  • 73.7oz T,
  • 1835W,
  • 200mph efflux,
  • 49,325rpm,
  • 2685Kv underload

Here is a link to a thread where Carl Rich did the testing:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1167099
Prof100 is online now Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:39 PM
Ginger or MaryAnn ??
fh64_lucky's Avatar
United States, TX, Garland
Joined May 2005
3,336 Posts
Carl knows his stuff,thats for sure.Those numbers look good and under 100 amps to boot.Is that what you might go with Prof100?I would like to see some other higher performance setups,mostly just see some power comparisons in the jet flying.Just need to stiffen wings and horzontal stab some then have some fun!
fh64_lucky is offline Find More Posts by fh64_lucky
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:50 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fh64_lucky View Post
Carl knows his stuff,thats for sure.Those numbers look good and under 100 amps to boot.Is that what you might go with Prof100?I would like to see some other higher performance setups,mostly just see some power comparisons in the jet flying.Just need to stiffen wings and horzontal stab some then have some fun!
It's 2009 test data so the amps are probably higher with today's packs. I think I would be pressing the outer limits of 100 Castle ESC.

He also tested with Eflite rotor and it had the following results on a 30C pack.

5S E-flite Rotor
20.95v-18.63v, 81.5A, 69.5ozT, 1531W, 51,900RPM, 190mph efflux, 2763Kv underload
Prof100 is online now Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 04:32 AM
Discussion New mini summit owner.. any tips? custom t Off-road Cars 16 Jul 05, 2012 10:03 AM
Discussion parkzone micro mods and owners thread flyguy99 Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 0 Jun 01, 2012 09:02 AM
Data mCP X (non chat) setup and tips owners thread Cable Guy Micro Helis 9 Mar 12, 2011 11:50 AM
Discussion Traxxas Slayer Owners/mod Thread corsair nut Off-road Cars 11 Nov 04, 2009 10:14 PM