HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 25, 2012, 06:51 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
jdreitman, I will see if I can compare the ESC output between firmware.
Can you check the esc type in case the different firmware changed it.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 25, 2012, 09:36 PM
ZeroUAV
ise2012's Avatar
Australia, SA, Tarcoola
Joined Jul 2012
84 Posts
ys-x6 autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnetto View Post
I'm setting the Autopilot YS-X6, I connected the cables as the manual, but when I turn on the battery, the system does not work, the ESC enter configuration mode. what am I doing wrong? please help me.
Best regards,
hi , my friend ,
first , i want to know your ap power and ESC power are separate , or not ,
it''s better separate .
when you power on ap , the led of ap blinks red for three times .
that is a sign , the ap work normal .
form your words , maybe you forget do calibration the ESC .
pls follw the manual of YS-X6 to set and test it .
you can follow the install guide of manual , to set the ap .
any quesion , let me kown ,

peter
ise2012 is offline Find More Posts by ise2012
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:01 PM
ZeroUAV
ise2012's Avatar
Australia, SA, Tarcoola
Joined Jul 2012
84 Posts
the gps mode fly

Quote:
Originally Posted by archet View Post
After having done all possible tests of the YS-X6 on my smaller GAUI 500X frame and everything went fine, I moved back the FC on the bigger S_Pro hexa and did the first try.
It was at night (and that was not a good choice) and I put the hexa on the grass (and this could have been worst). I first tried to start in manual mode pushing the throttle at only 40% to see if the motors were running smoothly but I didn't took off in this mode. Because I was confident that in GPS mode it would have worked fine I went in GPS mode and pushed the throttle a little bit over the middle point. The hexa tried to take off but suddenly It flipped over without not even going up one cm.
I don't know what happened, but I have broken three cf propellers and the shaft of one motor is now loose. I am very frustrated of this start after few months of preparation of the hexa in so many details.
It seems as if the front part of the landing skid were blocked by some grass root, but I am not sure because it was dark.
Actually the type of grass of our garden has roots that grows horizontally on the surface and it is possible that one or both of front part of the landing skid were trapped by these roots. I do not have any other explanation at the moment.
What could have been other possible reasons of such a flip over?
Thanks.
i am sorry about you had a crash of your aircraft , did you have the hj file ?
you can send it to me , and i can analysis it to find the reason .

and i want to know , when you switch the ap to gps mode , did you check the gps
star is more than 5 ? if the not more than 5 , you can not switch it to gps mode .
and another suggestion , when you test it ,maybe in the daytime is better .

peter
ise2012 is offline Find More Posts by ise2012
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:10 PM
ZeroUAV
ise2012's Avatar
Australia, SA, Tarcoola
Joined Jul 2012
84 Posts
robone , thank you very much .

Quote:
Originally Posted by robone View Post
I disagree, I think the PC GCS is good and also the Android GCS.

You can check if you can down load maps for offline use here https://support.google.com/gmm/bin/a...answer=2650347

Just for ease, here is the list of countries that allow you to download maps for off line use.

Availability
OS Support: Offline maps is available on Android devices running version 2.2 (Froyo) or higher. Its available in Google Maps for Android release 6.9 and above, so please go to Google Play to update to the latest version.
Streets and maps data: Your downloaded map area includes streets and maps data. Zoom in to see a detailed view of your offline map. Certain features such as satellite, terrain, indoor maps, and 3D buildings will not be available offline.
Features that require a network connection: Features that require a network connection such as directions and Navigation arent available offline.

Maps for the following countries and regions can be downloaded:

Afghanistan
hi , Robone .
thank you very much , you are a very kind person , you like share your Your experience to us , thank you again .
ise2012 is offline Find More Posts by ise2012
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:55 AM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by archet View Post
Because I was still afraid to break my new hexa frame S6-PRO and propellers during tests, I decided to move the YS-X6 system on a smaller GAUI 500X frame that I used to fly with DJI-M.
I changed settings accordingly and did first a successful manual test, being motors very responsive to throttle movements.
I then did a test in GPS mode and was extremely surprised by its perfect auto take off as soon as the throttle arrived at a little bit over 50%. I heard the motors immediately roaming at high speed and I was a little bit frightening, because I was used to a more gradual increment of speed using DJI-M feeling it under my control. Here actually you can feel that YS-X6 takes over the control doing a perfect auto take off. Even the landing was perfect as soon as I put the throttle below the middle position.
Here is the video I have done during the GPS mode test.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1mGkq...=youtube_gdata

Now the challenge will be to do it on the bigger S6-Pro with different motors, ESCs and propellers. Anyway I am now more confident it will be ok.
Thanks guys
That happens if the props are on wrong or motor is not turning the correct direction.
On a fresh install, as a last test before maiden I power up to 1/4.
This is enough power to move the frame without taking off.
Check roll and pitch are moving the craft in the correct direction.

Should be able to see from the log.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Last edited by Mr_westie; Nov 26, 2012 at 04:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 03:21 AM
RTF copters maker
maximus-rc's Avatar
South France
Joined Jan 2008
1,186 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrotor_rg686 View Post
Does anyone know if YS-X6 supports autoland feature when the battery voltage level gets to low like the DJI -NAZA?
Hi,
It does, but for me it is much more close from auto-crash with hard landing than smooth autoland....
Be ware of this and land before it happens !!
cheers
Maximus
maximus-rc is offline Find More Posts by maximus-rc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 04:10 AM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
jdreitman, I will see if I can compare the ESC output between firmware.
Can you check the esc type in case the different firmware changed it.
Checked with a scope.
No changes between firmware.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 04:23 AM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lebobob View Post
Hi HaviR,

I had the same problem as yours. Solved it by clicking on "neutral position" tab with Tx sticks on neutral before doing calibration.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaviR View Post
Neither this seems to be my solution. You can see it in the following video.
I got around to install my replacement YS-X6.
I also had trouble doing a channel align.
Flashing an older firmware got it working.
Still worked after flashing the latest.

This is so much easier to navigate than Zero's site.
http://multirotor.co.za/?page_id=964

Try this one
YS-X6-Firmware-Enc-V1.2.zip 20120815



Note:
Using an older PC GCS will result in delayed telemetry updates.
About 1s delay.

They really should increment the version number in
Help > About

Liking the new features.
Joystick flight will be a real show off feature
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 06:29 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2012
29 Posts
Today Ive tested with two previus firmwares (20120815 and 20120723) with the same results...
Ill send the controller to the dealer for review.
Thank you so much for your interest.

Regards.
HaviR is offline Find More Posts by HaviR
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:32 AM
Registered User
Mozambique, Maputo City, Maputo
Joined Sep 2012
38 Posts
Fly test with YS.X6 with my new S-PRO hexa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
That happens if the props are on wrong or motor is not turning the correct direction.
On a fresh install, as a last test before maiden I power up to 1/4.
This is enough power to move the frame without taking off.
Check roll and pitch are moving the craft in the correct direction.

Should be able to see from the log.
Finally it seems that my hexa is going to work now.
Problems, errors and lessons:
1. During the first day I had few manual flights that went fine but at night I had a flip over in GPS mode (I had more than 7 satellites locked), I blamed the grass and the too short landing skids that turn the model very unstable when taking off manually and landing;
2. The day after I started from a more leveled place (and not from the grass of the garden) in GPS mode and it went up smoothly, I then immediately landed it and tried in manual mode, again with a flip over that can't be explained by possible motors or props mounted wrongly;
3. I had to substitute once again the broken props and then I discovered a loose wire of one motor that eventually came off completely;
4. Because I had to change the motor I took the opportunity to disassemble the all frame because there were some clamps that were not working due to short screws that destroyed one or two mm threads and doing this I had to disconnect all the wiring from ESC's, motors and power board;
5. I tried to be careful connecting all the wiring again, but perhaps because I was frustrated, tired and wanted to do it fast, I inadvertently interchanged the wires of one motor, resulting in turning it in the wrong direction;
6. When I tried it again, in GPS mode, it obviously flipped over one more time (other two props broken); Only at that time I did a test to see which direction the props were spinning;
7. Changed the connections and everything started to work fine;
8. I learned to be more systematic when checking the model before flying (preferably with a check list), test it accurately even if I am sure that I mounted all the stuff properly, not fly in the dark because it is more difficult to perceive small problems, and never be in a hurry to see your model flying.
archet is offline Find More Posts by archet
Last edited by archet; Nov 26, 2012 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Mozambique, Maputo City, Maputo
Joined Sep 2012
38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ise2012 View Post
i am sorry about you had a crash of your aircraft , did you have the hj file ?
you can send it to me , and i can analysis it to find the reason .

and i want to know , when you switch the ap to gps mode , did you check the gps
star is more than 5 ? if the not more than 5 , you can not switch it to gps mode .
and another suggestion , when you test it ,maybe in the daytime is better .

peter
hi Peter,
I have seen on my Samsung cellphone that I have now a lot of hj files, so I don't know which of them relate to the problems I had.
But for sure I had some flips over because one of the motor was spinning in the wrong direction.
Is it possible that in GPS mode the ap can understand if one motor is connected in the wrong way and correct somehow it? I was surprised to have a flip over in manual mode only few seconds after having flown perfectly in GPS mode.
By the way can you tell me how to open these hj file? Is there a special software to open and analyze them?
archet is offline Find More Posts by archet
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:52 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Open them with the PC GCS.


Flip and manual and not gps, possibly if well programmed.
I can see how it could work.
Not sure if the YS does though.


Well done on you troubleshooting.
Even the best of us miss stuff when in a hurry or tired.
When you have a lot to loose a comprehensive pre flight checklist is a must.
A bad take off/flip might cost < $100 in props and motors.
Problems from higher could cost the whole system.
With a YS onboard >$1000
So you have to consider, is that extra minute before flight worth saving a potentially $1000+ repair?
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Last edited by Mr_westie; Nov 26, 2012 at 01:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:09 AM
ZeroUAV
ise2012's Avatar
Australia, SA, Tarcoola
Joined Jul 2012
84 Posts
the hj file

Quote:
Originally Posted by archet View Post
hi Peter,
I have seen on my Samsung cellphone that I have now a lot of hj files, so I don't know which of them relate to the problems I had.
But for sure I had some flips over because one of the motor was spinning in the wrong direction.
Is it possible that in GPS mode the ap can understand if one motor is connected in the wrong way and correct somehow it? I was surprised to have a flip over in manual mode only few seconds after having flown perfectly in GPS mode.
By the way can you tell me how to open these hj file? Is there a special software to open and analyze them?
hi , my friend.
To Android: the file with name of T+runtime saved in folder Yshj under root
directory of Phone/Tablet

maybe you need check all connection before you fly your aircraft .
the ap did not know the motor connect is wrong .
pls be carefully check everything .
you can use the pc gcs to open the hj file .

peter
ise2012 is offline Find More Posts by ise2012
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone View Post
I disagree, I think the PC GCS is good and also the Android GCS.

You can check if you can down load maps for offline use here https://support.google.com/gmm/bin/a...answer=2650347

Just for ease, here is the list of countries that allow you to download maps for off line use.

Availability
OS Support: Offline maps is available on Android devices running version 2.2 (Froyo) or higher. Its available in Google Maps for Android release 6.9 and above, so please go to Google Play to update to the latest version.
Streets and maps data: Your downloaded map area includes streets and maps data. Zoom in to see a detailed view of your offline map. Certain features such as satellite, terrain, indoor maps, and 3D buildings will not be available offline.
Features that require a network connection: Features that require a network connection such as directions and Navigation arent available offline.

Maps for the following countries and regions can be downloaded:

Afghanistan
Albania
Algeria
American Samoa
Angola
Anguilla
Antarctica
Antigua and Barbuda
Armenia
Aruba
Australia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Bahamas
Bahrain
Bangladesh
Barbados
Belarus
Belgium
Belize
Benin
Bermuda
Bhutan
Bolivia
Botswana
Bouvet Island
British Indian Ocean Territory
British Virgin Islands
Brunei
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cambodia
Cameroon
Canada
Cape Verde
Cayman Islands
Central African Republic
Chad
China
Christmas Island
Cocos (Keeling) Islands
Comoros
Congo
Cook Islands
Costa Rica
Cote d'Ivoire
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Denmark
Djibouti
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Ecuador
Egypt
El Salvador
Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea
Ethiopia
Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)
Faroe Islands
Fiji
Finland
France
French Guiana
French Polynesia
French Southern and Antarctic Lands
Gabon
Gambia
Georgia
Germany
Ghana
Greece
Greenland
Grenada
Guadeloupe
Guam
Guatemala
Guinea-Bissau
Guinea
Guyana
Haiti
Heard Island and McDonald Islands
Honduras
Hong Kong
Iceland
India
Iran
Iraq
Ireland
Italy
Jamaica
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Kiribati
Kosovo
Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan
Laos
Lesotho
Liberia
Libya
Luxembourg
Macao
Macedonia (FYROM)
Madagascar
Malawi
Maldives
Mali
Malta
Marshall Islands
Martinique
Mauritania
Mauritius
Mayotte
Mexico
Micronesia, Federated States of
Moldova
Monaco
Mongolia
Montenegro
Montserrat
Morocco
Mozambique
Myanmar (Burma)
Namibia
Nauru
Nepal
Netherlands Antilles
Netherlands
New Caledonia
New Zealand
Nicaragua
Niger
Nigeria
Niue
Norfolk Island
Northern Ireland
Northern Mariana Islands
Norway
Pakistan
Palau
Panama
Papua New Guinea
Paraguay
Peru
Philippines
Pitcairn Islands
Poland
Portugal
Puerto Rico
Qatar
Reunion
Romania
Rwanda
Saint Helena
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia
Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Samoa
San Marino
Sao Tome and Principe
Saudi Arabia
Senegal
Serbia
Seychelles
Sierra Leone
Singapore
Solomon Islands
Somalia
South Africa
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Sri Lanka
Sudan
Suriname
Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Swaziland
Sweden
Switzerland
Syria
Tajikistan
Tanzania
Timor-Leste
Togo
Tokelau
Tonga
Tunisia
Turkmenistan
Turks and Caicos Islands
Tuvalu
U.S. Minor Outlying Territories
U.S. Virgin Islands
Uganda
UK
Ukraine
United Arab Emirates
United States
Uruguay
Uzbekistan
Vanuatu
Vatican City
Venezuela
Vietnam
Wallis and Futuna
Western Sahara
Yemen
Zambia
Zimbabwe
Rob thanks for your in put here. I always appreciate your feed back.

This is how I have found it. When I bought my new Galaxy Note about 4 weeks ago I could make 6 saves for off line use in Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore. Well I was pleased as punch after all the trouble I went through to sell the iPad and then buy the Samsung which the GCS works on without having to hack it and loose your warranty.

Then just after one week it gives me a software alert to update to the latest Android version. No probs so i just clicked and let it update. But then it also loaded the latest Google map release. Then when I went to save the maps, it gave a warning this location is not allowed to save maps. You can imagine the extreme frustration and anger after all the crap I went through to get this device mostly so I can use it for the YS-X6 GCS.

So I trawled forums for days and looked for work rounds, but no go. So in the end I had to "hack" to get root and remove the new version of Google maps and then search for the old version to reinstall it.

Now with the old version it works fine again to save off line maps.

That list you have sent might not be right for the new Google map version. Its correct that it doesn't list Malaysia for off line map download, but Singapore is on the list and the new version wont save maps for there and I think this is the same for China. The staff at Zerouav confirmed this to me a few weeks ago as well that ti doesn't save fro China.

On some other forums I find there are a lot of other countries they now cant save the maps either.

Rely the easiest way to fix all this is to be able to just plug your Xbee data link direct into your usb port and then have live internet at the same time. I wouldn't have thought that would be to difficult seeing a lot of other UAVs do it.
SkippyTBK is online now Find More Posts by SkippyTBK
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 06:19 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkippyTBK View Post
Rob thanks for your in put here. I always appreciate your feed back.

This is how I have found it. When I bought my new Galaxy Note about 4 weeks ago I could make 6 saves for off line use in Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore. Well I was pleased as punch after all the trouble I went through to sell the iPad and then buy the Samsung which the GCS works on without having to hack it and loose your warranty.

Then just after one week it gives me a software alert to update to the latest Android version. No probs so i just clicked and let it update. But then it also loaded the latest Google map release. Then when I went to save the maps, it gave a warning this location is not allowed to save maps. You can imagine the extreme frustration and anger after all the crap I went through to get this device mostly so I can use it for the YS-X6 GCS.

So I trawled forums for days and looked for work rounds, but no go. So in the end I had to "hack" to get root and remove the new version of Google maps and then search for the old version to reinstall it.

Now with the old version it works fine again to save off line maps.

That list you have sent might not be right for the new Google map version. Its correct that it doesn't list Malaysia for off line map download, but Singapore is on the list and the new version wont save maps for there and I think this is the same for China. The staff at Zerouav confirmed this to me a few weeks ago as well that ti doesn't save fro China.

On some other forums I find there are a lot of other countries they now cant save the maps either.

Rely the easiest way to fix all this is to be able to just plug your Xbee data link direct into your usb port and then have live internet at the same time. I wouldn't have thought that would be to difficult seeing a lot of other UAVs do it.

Rob just a question I asked earlier. Is it possible to fly using the Android app Controller indoors without GPS?
SkippyTBK is online now Find More Posts by SkippyTBK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 20007 Oct 22, 2014 10:17 AM
Discussion Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion fajar Multirotor Electronics 2406 Sep 01, 2014 08:51 PM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion Groupbuy for YS-X6 system fajar Australia 14 May 15, 2012 04:35 AM