HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 04, 2012, 02:25 PM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post

-Done differently
Do not launch from a confined space, balcony?
Once RTH was enabled, do not touch mode switch.
Agree. While it is flying in Back Landing Mode, do not push throttle to max and then down to 20 as it does nothing. The switch to Manual mode when the throttle was low (20) probably did it. At 4.50 the real time throttle was down to 4 and that is not where the crash took place.

I and a few others I know, have switched over to manual mode while Back Landing, without a problem, but the throttle was still at about 50%.

The problem is in Auto Hover mode, to make it move up or down, it needs such extreme movements.

I know they say in the Manual that if the throttle is low and you switch to manual, the motors will cut off. Now I am not sure how low is low. Maybe it looks like 20 percent is low.

I would like to ask 2 questions, just so we get a clearer picture..

1. Can you tell us what the battery voltage was when this switch over to manual took place (4.46).
2. Can you tell us what the ESC's settings were. Lipo/Nixx and Soft Cut off/no cut off or hard cut off.

Rob
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Last edited by robone; Nov 04, 2012 at 02:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 04, 2012, 03:16 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
1. 11.64v
Idle start of flight , 12.57v
10s after power up hover, 12.00v

2. Owner will have to answer that.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2012, 06:05 PM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
sydney, downunder
Joined Jan 2011
1,663 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
magetpr's maiden crash

Flight video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ZGYKJkNuRQ

GCS
http://youtu.be/4CV-4tYHCYc
Note video may not be realtime.

System setup
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...0#post23059155


Good number of sats.
Low shake.

0:41 off axis gps drop
1:15 lift off
4:01 radio loss?
4:15 Back landing (RTH) engaged
4:22 "xekf Velx" peaks at -458
4:32 radio control restablished? .DTB 26m
4:34 "xekf Veld" starts to rise, peaking at -141
4:37 full throttle for 1.5s does not result in alt change
4:44 Low throttle for 1s does not result in alt change
4:46 Switch to manual at low throttle = crash
4:50 impact, throttle off

-Analysis
Depends what you trust more, the AR8000 or YS-X6.
I am going with the AR as failsafe is throttle low and range was less than 70m.
During normal flight minor corrections are seen in "Manual servo position"
At 4:01 MSP input is stalled.
When input is working again throttle does not result in Alt change.
I can not see any reason why the YS would ignore MSP.
The sat signal does appear to go bad at points but not at the same time as stalled input.

Not responding to throttle is a problem.

The bad data the YS was getting may have caused it to ignore MSP


-Warning signs
High "xekf Velx" blip while on ground
High "xekf Velx" blip while on in air


-Done differently
Do not launch from a confined space, balcony?
Once RTH was enabled, do not touch mode switch.
Personally I wont even launch the copter if I found that the xekf velx number was that high. When I crashed mine upon lift off about a month ago I thought it was the system's fault. But I realized that I'd changed my setup the night before so I had inadvertently introduced interferences to the IMU. So I did a couple of ground test and the result was conclusive, source of interferences were affecting the IMU. The fix was really easy, I just repositioned those sources as further away as possible from the IMU and it's all good now.

It is important to note that magetpr's setup included 800mw 1.2ghz vtx. From my point of view, the vtx and possibly other sources might have caused harmful interference to the IMU. Just try that by powering up the copter and move the source of interference close to the imu and read the values of xecf velx in the GCS.

Since the values were not accurate the system didnt perform what it was supposed to do so that may explain the crash.

So perhaps a new protocol could be introduced in which the system would deny throttling up upon take off if the xecf velx value reaches a certain high number just before take off.
fajar is offline Find More Posts by fajar
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2012, 09:44 PM
Registered User
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Sep 2012
51 Posts
I have a question for someone.... if I am always seeing a white light when trying to take off, afterreading everything here it seems my vibrations are to high, so the actual question.... Can I extend the LED wires? If I use 4 conductor sheilded wire, another 6 inches or so should be ok? This will take it totally away from everything for the RF noise as I read a few pages ago??
Thanks in advance....

Oh, I am getting rid of the F550 plastic arms unit for aluminum arms, or a new frame altogether
hobiej is offline Find More Posts by hobiej
Last edited by hobiej; Nov 04, 2012 at 09:46 PM. Reason: Forgot to add frame details
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 01:13 AM
Registered User
United States, MN, St Cloud
Joined Jan 2012
551 Posts
If it were me I would address the vibrations before flying as the possiblity of a crash could be very costly
richkphoto is offline Find More Posts by richkphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 02:19 AM
Registered User
Canada, AB, Calgary
Joined Sep 2012
51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
If it were me I would address the vibrations before flying as the possiblity of a crash could be very costly
Well, to be honest, I went through all the setup steps, and I got to the test flight in manual mode, flew perfect, then I saw my vib was around 10 or so, then started to see a white light, landed. Read. Flew again, and when I tried gps mode, it started to shoot straight up, and fast, rechecked vibs, way up in the 20's, and a white light again.... So I landed and started reading some more, And then good old winter showed up and it snowed, so I'm ordering parts, then will try again in the spring, or sooner if we get a nice long chinook
hobiej is offline Find More Posts by hobiej
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 07:50 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
I have been battling over the last while (could be a month or two) to load saved waypoints on my Android HTC Flyer Tablet and also on my Samsung S3. Could save but not reload them. Everytime I tried to load it would shut down the app.

It turns out that in South Africa we use the comma as a delimiter instead of a decimal point. So every time it saved the file it saved with a comma as the decimal point and when it came to load, it did not know what it was reading. We finally resolved it today with ZeroUAV and they have revised their App, which is busy being tested. But, for those of you in Europe, South America and South Africa and a few other countries, you must also have been having this problem.

These are the Countries affected (Green) and Blue uses the point (full stop)



I would think that the revised App will be sent out in a few days.

I like the the way the new App has been laid out. It is so much easier to use.

Well done ZeroUAV.
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 03:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
156 Posts
hello,
i have a problem of not enough channels. i'm using a 9x with frsky modules with a max of 8 channels.
What i really want to do is have my quad set up to run with 2 controllers. A pilot flying fpv style and a photographer controlling the camera.
So my question is this, can i run 2 2.4ghz systems of one quad, or will the signals interfere with each other, and or shorten my range.
I want to order another 9x and frsky combo for the photographer.
I was thinking of perhaps using a second system on 72mhz, or 30mhz, but it would be easier to just duplicate the stuff i'm already familiar with.
Any help much appreciated !
whizz101 is offline Find More Posts by whizz101
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 11:07 PM
MULTIROTOR FREAK
India, KA, Bangalore
Joined Aug 2011
196 Posts
hI GUYS

Any one noticed at what time Zero UAV support will be online on SKYPE, I have many clarifications Please let me know
hemanthtguru is offline Find More Posts by hemanthtguru
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 02:53 AM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined Feb 2011
665 Posts
I know a guy in south africa he is using 2 controllers one for video and one for controlling the drone

http://www.steadidrone.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by whizz101 View Post
hello,
i have a problem of not enough channels. i'm using a 9x with frsky modules with a max of 8 channels.
What i really want to do is have my quad set up to run with 2 controllers. A pilot flying fpv style and a photographer controlling the camera.
So my question is this, can i run 2 2.4ghz systems of one quad, or will the signals interfere with each other, and or shorten my range.
I want to order another 9x and frsky combo for the photographer.
I was thinking of perhaps using a second system on 72mhz, or 30mhz, but it would be easier to just duplicate the stuff i'm already familiar with.
Any help much appreciated !
Andre6553 is offline Find More Posts by Andre6553
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 02:13 PM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined Feb 2011
665 Posts
How can itbe so quiet here?
Andre6553 is offline Find More Posts by Andre6553
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 02:41 PM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,129 Posts
well personally I am afraid to fly my WKM lately... and am considering sending it back for checking.

I get white flahes and very poor performance from my one machine, the other is fine.

It's also getting cold so I am staying inside building things

Steve
saabguyspg is online now Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 02:44 PM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
294 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
well personally I am afraid to fly my WKM lately... and am considering sending it back for checking.

I get white flahes and very poor performance from my one machine, the other is fine.

It's also getting cold so I am staying inside building things

Steve
But this is YS thread right? Sold my wkm in lack of trust for latest firmwares. I think YS:s are just playing nice, that's why quiet here.
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 08:11 PM
Registered User
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur
Joined Nov 2011
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemanthtguru View Post
hI GUYS

Any one noticed at what time Zero UAV support will be online on SKYPE, I have many clarifications Please let me know
They are based in Beijing so time there is GMT+8 They are open 9am to 5pm but I usually don't see them on Skype until around midday. You can call them on +86-10-57250711 during office hours as well.
SkippyTBK is offline Find More Posts by SkippyTBK
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 10:28 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
My one went in for repair.
Waiting for it to come back.
At least another 2 weeks away as no replacement stock
Grounded since 29th Sep

In the meantime I am playing with Autoquad.
Getting close to YS performance.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 20064 Dec 12, 2014 07:19 AM
Discussion Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion fajar Multirotor Electronics 2410 Oct 27, 2014 04:44 PM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 07:50 AM
Discussion Groupbuy for YS-X6 system fajar Australia 14 May 15, 2012 05:35 AM