Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 13, 2012, 04:43 PM
Registered User
United States, MN, St Cloud
Joined Jan 2012
475 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone View Post
It depends on what loads you are carrying and what props you will be using.

Check it out on eCalc http://www.ecalc.ch/xcoptercalc_e.htm?ecalc and you can play with different scenarios
I've tried to use this in the pastand it never comes up with anything except not enough power to hover which is wrong because it was hovering at 50% throttle. If you have time could you poug in the numbers and see what you get.
I have a hex that weighes 6.5 lbs with batteries, 6 Avroto 2814 motors,2 5000mah 30=70c batteries and apc slo fly props 12x3.8
richkphoto is offline Find More Posts by richkphoto
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 14, 2012, 01:47 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
I've tried to use this in the pastand it never comes up with anything except not enough power to hover which is wrong because it was hovering at 50% throttle. If you have time could you poug in the numbers and see what you get.
I have a hex that weighes 6.5 lbs with batteries, 6 Avroto 2814 motors,2 5000mah 30=70c batteries and apc slo fly props 12x3.8
Here are the calcs. One for a 3S and one for 4S

I used the RC Tiger MT2814-10 as they are probably the closest to the Avroto

robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Last edited by robone; Sep 14, 2012 at 02:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 06:24 AM
Registered User
United States, MN, St Cloud
Joined Jan 2012
475 Posts
Thanx Rob
richkphoto is offline Find More Posts by richkphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 11:04 AM
Registered User
United States, MN, St Cloud
Joined Jan 2012
475 Posts
Anyone using the YS_X6 for gimbal control do you use digital on analog servos and what are the best servo's to use
richkphoto is offline Find More Posts by richkphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 03:13 PM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,055 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
Anyone using the YS_X6 for gimbal control do you use digital on analog servos and what are the best servo's to use
YS-X6 support up to 333hz refresh, so a quick digital servo is definitively the way to go.
jab is offline Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 03:29 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
Anyone using the YS_X6 for gimbal control do you use digital on analog servos and what are the best servo's to use
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...0#post22742148
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 12:23 AM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Did a range test today.
Stopped to get bearings, looked down at laptop.
"gee that video looks upside down"
Look up, hey where is it gone?
Dammit.

Ended at 500m with a flip and 50m drop into a swamp.
While the gps showed the exact spot, getting to it took 30 mins, getting out took another 20 and some muddy boots and pants.


- -


Only minor damage as it was a swamp.
If I had strapped in the batteries a bit better there would have been no damage.
The hardware was under a dome.
The force of the batteries coming loose and crushing everything caused the damage you see.

Bent batteries & equipment tray - avoidable.
Ejected camera tray. Lost 2 rubber washers.


The last image I saw from the Camera


GCS flight video.

As you can see from the video, power surge/impact reset the DTB value.

My guess to what happened was.
RX started glitching at 433m, mode switches to manual.
Gets worse after 489m, Ail going way beyond range of L40, L78.
Possible the flip glitch at 505m, D69/R49, L72/ T115.
FC then cuts throttle for a moment.
I wonder if the extremes in reported travel caused a buffer overflow condition.
Engaging the emergency motor cut function.

If this is true, it shows a lack of testing by YS.
As soon as the reported stick travel goes beyond expected range an error should be generated and value ignored.


Why am I not using 2.4ghz?
It was impacting my wifi throughput.
In hindsight I should have used the android to fly it.
While I was sure it had the range I was not 100% there wasn't going to be a flyaway.
Earlier test with waypoint navigation were not 100% successful.

Hitec Eclipse 7 40Mhz Tx, RCD3500 Rx
With a spec'ed range of 5500ft, I was a little disappointed it started glitching at 1450ft.
I guess there was a lot of interference from those Motors/Esc.
Lesson learned, only fly with a failsafe capable RX.
Onto a LRS system.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Last edited by Mr_westie; Sep 16, 2012 at 12:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 06:26 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
563 Posts
Have been flying waypoints today 15 in arow works realy nice. In gps mode the ys behaves real good. But in manual mode it willstart to lean verry much after some agressive flying. So for me this controller is only flyable in gps mode. Anyone else experiencing the same problem?
rwijnhov is offline Find More Posts by rwijnhov
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2012, 02:56 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
rwijnhov
So on lift off in manual mode it will stay in once place?
Or does it drift in manual right after take off.

How about in Alt hold mode?
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 02:51 AM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
286 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwijnhov View Post
Have been flying waypoints today 15 in arow works realy nice. In gps mode the ys behaves real good. But in manual mode it willstart to lean verry much after some agressive flying. So for me this controller is only flyable in gps mode. Anyone else experiencing the same problem?
Same problem here when switching to atti from gps. But doesn't even need aggressive flying.
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 03:11 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
563 Posts
In manual it hovers right spot on. So balance is perfect. In gps mode no issues at all. In both manual mode 1 + 2 verry much leaning I believe alsmost all ys have this issue. Pls test.
rwijnhov is offline Find More Posts by rwijnhov
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 01:26 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,960 Posts
I get that drift issue yes after mildly agressive flying...

I have come to the conclusion that this controller is not currently suitable for my AP work and it has been shelved.

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 01:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
563 Posts
Yes i believe all controllers suffer from this problem.

@zerouav
Pls fix this leaning isue and the gimbal controls..
rwijnhov is offline Find More Posts by rwijnhov
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 02:37 PM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined Feb 2011
665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
I get that drift issue yes after mildly agressive flying...

I have come to the conclusion that this controller is not currently suitable for my AP work and it has been shelved.

Steve
Make sure your declination is set correct mine does the chicken dance when its not set correct.
Andre6553 is offline Find More Posts by Andre6553
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 03:26 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
The gimbal issue has been a request since June, basically as soon as people started testing it.
It works, but not great.
If you need more tuning ability than what is currently available, get a standalone controller.
This seems to be a good option for cheap.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1710318
I am trying it myself.


Crash
Spoke with ZeroUAV support.
Initially they insisted the rollover caused the motor cut off.
Until I pointed out these point in the flight where it was upright when the motor cut off.



He then 'guess' it was the fact that the throttle overran the normal range.
115 vs normal max 90.
This does reaffirm my earlier belief that they did not test for a glitch condition and program around it.
Glitching on a plane/heli won't be so bad as it may just twitch due to servos not being able to move fast enough.


While this condition should not happen if you are using a RX with failsafe, PCM/2.4Ghz.
It could happen if
-wire come loose
-the TX mode is switched allowing greater travel range than what was calibrated. (ie. dual rates on while calibrating)
-stick range calibration was not done properly

I crash so you don't have to
Fly safe guys

If you are selling these put in big bold
FAILSAFE CAPABLE RX ONLY!
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 19946 Yesterday 08:09 AM
Discussion Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion fajar Multirotor Electronics 2401 Jul 05, 2014 02:34 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion Groupbuy for YS-X6 system fajar Australia 14 May 15, 2012 04:35 AM