HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 22, 2012, 06:02 AM
Joined Jul 2012
4 Posts
Discussion
Want to get an rc plane, I have some components already.

Hi all, I'm new here.

A couple of years ago I bought a model cessna 182 RTF from ST models. I didn't really have a clue what I was doing, and of course in my cocky youth I completely totalled the plane about a second after my first takeoff.

Anyway, I really want to get into rc planes again and need some advice on what to get. The thing is, I have a 35MHz 4-channel transmitter and receiver, and what I think is a brushed motor that are perfectly fine for use. If I were to get a new plane I probably would need a better motor, but wouldn't the radio equipment be fine for use?

I'm just looking to see if it's possible to save some money with the bits and pieces I have, what beginner (I am very much a complete beginner) plane to get, and how I could incorporate what I have into a new plane.

I'm aware that for the experienced here this is the kind of thing you would do anyway. I'm doing a degree in engineering, so I have some idea of how the circuitry works and how planes are designed to fly.

Thanks in advance.
nirelandflyer is offline Find More Posts by nirelandflyer
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 22, 2012, 07:24 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,000 Posts
Have a look in the - Foamies (Scratchbuilt) forum - especially the 'Sticky' threads at the top.

One of the threads includes links to many free to download plans, plus the build threads and advice on which make good first build and trainers.

That way you can keep the cost to a minimum, (even free foam insulation from a builder skip is possible). It also means when you have the next 'arrival', (we don't crash ), a replacement is so easy and cheap to make.

It's handy if you have a local model shop for the smaller bits and pieces, plus you may need new batteries as old nicad/nimh cells can deteriorate over long periods.