HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by AirX, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jul 20, 2012, 07:30 PM
EDF rules... :)
Joined Nov 1999
13,563 Posts
Discussion
What's going on in my hobby....

Several months back I lost the usage of my CAD programs I had been using for several years when my old laptops hard drive died.
I lost a lot of modeling - arround 10 years worth to be exact. Now I still have the files just not a program that can read them.
I have since gotten a new laptop and found a few CAD programs that work surprisingly well and are easy to use.
I had been using AutoCad v2000 and Inventor v5, inventor was used to make 3d models and AutoCad was used to prep the 2d parts derived from the inventor models for use in my cnc machine.
The programs I have now are DevFusFoam and will soon be getting DevFusCam for wood modeling. I plan to get DevCadPro for general drafting and ProfiliPro for wood\foam wings. Each will generate g-code to run cnc machines which is a big plus.

Link to DevCad products: http://www.devcad.com/eng/devfus_frame.htm

More to come...
AirX is offline Find More Posts by AirX
Last edited by AirX; Jul 20, 2012 at 07:33 PM. Reason: Added link
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 22, 2012, 05:21 PM
Do it Right, the first time!
United States, MN, Hermantown
Joined Dec 2008
5,163 Posts
I have been told, but don't know for a fact, some computer shops can retrieve thr info. Well worth a try. Mark
CoolerByTheLake is offline Find More Posts by CoolerByTheLake
Old Aug 23, 2012, 05:30 AM
Joined Nov 1999
13,563 Posts
Hi Mark,

They can retrieve data, I have a backup hard drive that I backed up all my designs but they cannot retrieve the programs that made the data.
Since the programs were 12years or older I cannot get a computer that will run them, the new versions are prohibitively expensive.
DevCad products will take a bit to learn but I will get proficient in them as I were in Inventor and Autocad...