HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 18, 2012, 04:39 PM
Joined Aug 2005
14 Posts
Help!
Naza gps fail safe crash

I am a newbie to multirotors so this may sound like a dumb question and might have been asked before but here goes.

Setup an Aeroxcraft quad with naza with Gps. Its maiden flight was yesterday and things where great. Could not believe how easy it was to fly. ( I use to fly giant scale rc aircraft). Anyway my setup is as follows

Aeroxcraft quad with ipower 2814q motors
35 A esc from Hobby lobby that have been flashed with simonk
Naza with Gps
Specktrum 2.4 using a JR 10x with 2.4 mod.
2 5000 mah 4s batteries
Aeroxcraft gopro gimbal

The quad was carefully balanced.

Today all flight test where good atti mode was stable and GPS mode showed a little sign of a clockwise toilet bowl rotation but really not that bad.
Landed to check esc's and motors. Disconnted batteries and then powered up quad got GPS lock with flashing green led. Took off and performed some manuvers and checked for stability. Raised alt. to about 15 feet and then switch to failsafe mode via transmitter switch. Thats when all hell broke loose. Quad shot up to about 45 feet and proceeded to start into a very fast right death sprial resulting in a crash.

My question is , what should the normal reaction be of the quad from a hover at 15 feet and about 20 feet from its home position? Should it climb in alt. or just return to its home position?

Thanks,

Pgear99
Pgear99 is offline Find More Posts by Pgear99
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 18, 2012, 04:51 PM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,349 Posts
Pgear99...

believe that depending on how you have the advanced failsafe set in the assistant it will either just land right where it is in it's current position,, or if you have it set to RTH, it rises about 20' and then comes back to where it first got GPS lock.