SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 17, 2012, 05:39 PM
United States, NV, Reno
Joined Jun 2012
157 Posts
Help!
Spoilers

Hi, I am a total noob. I am wondering about what materials to use to actuate a spoiler. I have the spoilers figured out per the plan. My question has to do with the strings and tubes used to move them. The plan on my 2 meter Riser said that I should use a 1/8 tube coupled with string to move them. What kind of string? What kind of tube. I think it is such common knowledge for glider guys it is not generally discussed when you read about spoiler instal.

In case you are wondering I am not totally committed to the strings instead of the separate servos in the wings. That said the plans are set up that way and I am leaning toward it as I am trying to stick to the plans and learn a few building skills on this one. If there was a very good reason to use some other method of actuation I would consider changing the plans.

Thank you
Fickle flier is offline Find More Posts by Fickle flier
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 17, 2012, 11:14 PM
United States, MA, Waltham
Joined Dec 2001
7,026 Posts
Strings are ok. If you can find some thin polyethylene or teflon tubing, that would probably be very good. Only has to be large enough to thread the string through. Maybe the smallest Sullivan tube, though that's probably more expensive than you need. The last hobby shop I went to had some suitable plastic tube that was, I think, 1/8" on the outside and 1/16" on the inside. Maybe slightly heavier than necessary, but not by much.

Are you building the Riser from the plans only? The kit should probably have something in it. Radio dial cord used to be a standard material, but good luck finding that these days. And strange things can happen to it when coiled up. Or at least the stuff I got in a kit had the core coming out at each sharp bend.