Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
This thread is privately moderated by askman, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jul 17, 2012, 04:05 PM
Destroyer of G-10
United States, OR
Joined Jul 2004
10,083 Posts
Discussion
AP/AV basics #1 assessment and gear options

as many of you know, I mostly hang around multicopter forum. Multicopter is latest platform and very popular one to hang camera on to. With technology advancement in gyro and automated flight, multicopter has become to platform to have. anyway, today is all about basics.

now, I've seen lot of post that goes like this.
hi, I am new to multicopter, I think it is great, never flew anything in my life, but I want a multicopter since I saw it on XX and I see the potential to make me rich and famous. my budget is $500.00 and I have several requirement.

1) I need controller with GPS and waypoint programming.
2) need FPV gear (i've done lot of computer flight sim, I know how to fly fpv)
3) I need it to be large enough to carry my D5 but gopro is fine for now.
4) I need fully stabilized gimbal
etc...

now, I know that many of us are excited to jump right in, but before we start any endeavor of this magnitude, you really need to consider what you are really after and assess your situation. In general, you really need to assess why you are interested in AP/AV.

For many of us, it is just cool to take video and picture from the Air. Most of us really are not out to make a living taking pictures though, beyond doing an occasional job for friends and family. (usually for little or no compensation) There are professional AP/AVers though. Most of them started as either accomplished Photo/videographer with some rc experience or RC guy with strong interested in photo/video. owning a D5 is not a sign of professional photographer though. true pro can make gopro image look great. Now, we do have new regs pending for civilian UAV use, so make sure you are upto date on the regulations if you want to do this for money.