Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 16, 2012, 10:51 AM
Joined Jul 2012
7 Posts
Question
Easystar 2 setup with stock propeller?

Hello,

This is my first thread on this forum and I am building my first plane. In other words I am completely new in this hobby so please have patience with me.

I have bought an Easystar 2 from the Swedish webside RC Flight (http://www.rcflight.se/visaprodukt.aspx?id=1934). Since I did not know much I asked the site manager what setup I should use. I bought the equipment he recommended:

ESC: HobbyWing Flyfun 18A
4 servos: EMax ES08A 8.5 g 1.5 Kg
Battery: Gravity 2200 mAh 3S 30-40 C LiPo
Turnigy SK 2826 1240kv

I also asked if I could use the stock propeller that comes with the Easystar 2 - a 7"x6" folding propeller (18cm x 15cm) - and he said yes.

Now to my question:
Can I really use this propeller?
If the answer is no, which propeller should I get?

I plan to try FPV with this plane in the future if all works out, so it would be great if the propeller could work even with some extra weight.

Kind regards,
Marcus
---------------------------------------
Specs of engine:

Brand: Turnigy SK
Kv: 1240
Max Volt: 11.1 V.
Max Amp: 16 A.
Watt: about 150 W.
Length: 28 mm
Weight: 45 g
Shaft: 3 mm

Specs of ESC:
Brand: HobbyWing
Series: Flyfun (Pentium).
Max Amp: 18 A (Burst 22 A).
Weight: 19 g
Size: 24 x 45 x 11 mm
Capacity (celler): 2-4
Max A BEC: 2 A (5V)

Specs of plane:
Wing span: 1366 mm.
Body length: 977 mm
Flight weight: 700 g.
Wing Area: 28 dm2
Load per wing area: 25 g/dm2
weiland is offline Find More Posts by weiland
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 16, 2012, 12:23 PM
Space Coast USA
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,728 Posts
The 7x6 is on the high side but may be OK.
The stock motor is an 1100 kv and your motor is a 1240kv so you are trying to spin the prop faster which draws more current.