HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 15, 2003, 12:01 PM
Live to ride... and fly!
Forney, TX
Joined Mar 2002
15,165 Posts
Rave
So you want to be a beta tester? Read this first...

It is time to speak out, enough is enough. I am not a kit designer/ producer, but I've done my share of alpha and beta testing and feel I'm qualified to address those are are severely abusing the honor system when it comes to beta testing. And hopefully I can educate those that have never beta tested but are interested in trying it. Here we go...

First, what a beta test is not:

Beta testing is not a way to get a free kit.

There, it is said. That's the most common misconception, that you just write the designer and he sends you a free kit that you can throw on your stack of unbuilt kits that you plan on getting to some day. Nope, it doesn't work that way. It may have been sent to you at no monetary cost to you, but it is not free because you are fully expected to earn that kit. This is akin to barter, you may not give money for the kit but you are to give labor for it. More on that below.

So, what is a beta kit?

An alpha or beta kit is an early development kit that the designer produces for testing purposes. The kit may have fitment problems. It may have no instructions yet. It might not even have plans. It probably will not have the hardware package that will be delivered with the final kits. It will definitely not have any threads you can look up on R/C Groups

Lastly, what is expected of a beta tester?

Now we get to the meat of the discussion. Let's do this with bullet points: