HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 14, 2012, 02:22 AM
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Discussion
Follow up on DX7s vs DX6i discussion

I asked, on one of the threads, whether I should buy DX7s or DX6i transmitter (I am a beginner), and everybody seemed to think that DX7s is worth extra $100-120 bucks. But, from my further investigation, it seems that DX7s comes in 2 flavors - heli and airplane, and I won't be able to switch between them. So, if I want to try both, I'll need to buy 2 DX7ses, am I correct ? That seems to disqualify it completely. Am I missing something ?
igorek is offline Find More Posts by igorek
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 14, 2012, 07:00 AM
United States, MA, Bristol
Joined Sep 2009
1,561 Posts
No, its the same as DX6i. It supports both.
seefest is offline Find More Posts by seefest
Old Jul 14, 2012, 10:48 AM
Crash and Burn
Joined Sep 2011
678 Posts
Did you verify whether the DX7 has the backlight, or whether you plan to install one yourself, or whether it is worth it to upgrade to the DX8?
lawlist is offline Find More Posts by lawlist
Old Jul 14, 2012, 12:25 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,486 Posts
http://www.spektrumrc.com/products/d...prodid=spm7800

I don't know how you got there were two different models from this.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Jul 14, 2012, 11:30 PM
Joined May 2012
60 Posts
The DX6i is really all that you will need for some time. It is not back-lit, but neither is the DX7. The real differences are not anything that you are going to need until you move up to bigger CP models, and I know several people that are even flying CP with their DX6i's. In the meantime, if you don't stay with the hobby, you are only out $150 rather than $300.
LOSTVENTURE is offline Find More Posts by LOSTVENTURE
Old Jul 15, 2012, 03:34 AM
Australia, WA, Mandurah
Joined Apr 2012
260 Posts