HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by davidterrell80, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jul 13, 2012, 11:22 PM
UMs & parkflyers... for now.
United States, VA, Herndon
Joined Apr 2012
2,883 Posts
Discussion
First Post

Hello,

My name is David Terrell. I currently live in Herndon, Virginia; where I work as a contractor, supporting a government agency.

For almost 20 years, before the events of 2001, I worked as a manufacturing engineer. For most of those years, I worked for Bell helicopter but I also worked for Martin Marietta Denver and Lockheed Martin in Georgia.

I am reentering the hobby after some 20 years. Long ago, I was very active in rubber powered free flight, especially peanut scale.
My, how the hobby is changed.

I am a user of the real flight simulator, and started with a hobby zone champ. Then, I purchased a ultra micro T 28. They have been a great deal of fun. I have also purchased the buzz 100 from Stephen's Aero. I really like it. I did use covering that was a bit heavy and the aircraft really needs a high current battery to fly well. So, I will probably recover it with something lighter. I also purchased the larger Park Flyer T 28 and have enjoyed it. My latest purchase was the carbon cub and, like many people, experienced the servo problems that seem endemic to that aircraft. I flew for a total of about 4 min. before the elevator servo drove up and burned out. I'm still waiting for that 200 dollar aircraft to return.

I went ahead and bought subscription service from Stephen's Aero and I am beginning to receive the kits that are part of the subscription. I purchased enough ultra microelectronics to keep five in the air.