HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 11, 2012, 09:35 PM
AUV
Registered User
Joined May 2012
97 Posts
Help!
MultiWii Trim in GUI (NOOB)

Hi,

We can't trim in the GUI no matter what we do!
We seem to be able to change the trim (sometimes), but never get it even...

First we trimmed the ESC's without the FC.
Results:
Front Right 18110 without prop (12600 with prop)
Front Left 18050 without prop (1220 with prop)
Rear Right 18010 without prop (12500 with prop)
Rear Left 17850 without prop (12500 with prop)

Then we hooked up the FC and the PC and tried to trim it in the GUI.
The best we could do is three corners at 2000 and one at 1500. But now we have 2000 in one corner and 1200 in three and we can't seem to change it at all.

We are using Conf 1.9

This is the board: http://translate.google.com/translat...ed=0CCcQ7gEwAA

Any hints would be appreciated!
Thanks!
AUV
AUV is offline Find More Posts by AUV
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 11, 2012, 09:36 PM
AUV
Registered User
Joined May 2012
97 Posts
Forgot!
The motors spin when armed... if I put the throttle all the way down they still spin a little...
AUV is offline Find More Posts by AUV
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 12:09 AM
kad
Quad Crasher
kad's Avatar
United States, NY, Poughkeepsie
Joined May 2012
667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUV View Post
Forgot!
The motors spin when armed... if I put the throttle all the way down they still spin a little...
That's normal for a Multiwii.

-K
kad is offline Find More Posts by kad
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 05:09 AM
Bitten by the RC Bug....
vineet_p's Avatar
India, Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad
Joined Aug 2011
789 Posts
If they spin a little even at minimum throttle, then try decreasing the MINTHROTTLE value in config.h sketch.
vineet_p is offline Find More Posts by vineet_p
Last edited by vineet_p; Jul 12, 2012 at 06:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 06:31 AM
Ape-pilot Extraordinaire
TS00's Avatar
Canada, NB, Moncton
Joined Jun 2011
1,508 Posts
I'm not sure I understand, what exactly are you trying to achieve?
TS00 is offline Find More Posts by TS00
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 06:48 AM
AUV
Registered User
Joined May 2012
97 Posts
Thanks Kad, didn't know that.

Hi TS00,
I'm trying to get all the motors to spin the same speed when I put the throttle to all the way up.

Hi Vineet,
I can load a sketch onto an Arduino (Mega and Uno), but I have not been able to load 2.0 onto this board and I don't know what I'm doing wrong... so I can't decrease MINTHRTTLE :-(
The error is "stay "#" in program". Guessing I didn't find everything I'm supposed to pick like "X" or "+".

Thanks for all the help,
AUV
AUV is offline Find More Posts by AUV
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 07:00 AM
Ape-pilot Extraordinaire
TS00's Avatar
Canada, NB, Moncton
Joined Jun 2011
1,508 Posts
If you have ACC on, that won't happen, because it's trying to level itself.

Often people put too much effort into trying to achieve this, when it isn't necessary.

All you need to do is:

- Set the ESC end points (connect all ESCs direct to the throttle on your Rx, turn on your Tx, full throttle, turn on your ESCs, then put the throttle to 0).

- Set your sub-trim so that your throttle zero is 1000, yaw/pitch/roll is 1500.

- Connect the motors to the correct outputs, and make sure they are spinning the correct direction.

- Go fly!
TS00 is offline Find More Posts by TS00
Last edited by TS00; Jul 12, 2012 at 07:04 AM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 07:33 AM
Bitten by the RC Bug....
vineet_p's Avatar
India, Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad
Joined Aug 2011
789 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUV View Post
Thanks Kad, didn't know that.

Hi TS00,
I'm trying to get all the motors to spin the same speed when I put the throttle to all the way up.
AUV
If this what you want to mainly achieve, you need to calibrate the throttle on your ESCs. Here's a howto: http://www.multiwii.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=286
vineet_p is offline Find More Posts by vineet_p
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:42 AM
AUV
Registered User
Joined May 2012
97 Posts
Hi TS00,

ACC is off and I did everything else on your list... but the quad just flips over very aggressively.

Hi Vineet,

I will read that now.


Thanks!
AUV
AUV is offline Find More Posts by AUV
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:46 AM
Quad lover.
chaosdestro0's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
853 Posts
Check your props are spinning the right direction and sensors are calibrated correctly.
See
http://www.multiwii.com/faq
PItch-Values increase when you pitch forward ( tail lifts off)
Roll-Values increase when you pitch to the right( left side lifts off)
Yaw- Increase when turned clockwise.
chaosdestro0 is offline Find More Posts by chaosdestro0
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 09:00 AM
Ape-pilot Extraordinaire
TS00's Avatar
Canada, NB, Moncton
Joined Jun 2011
1,508 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUV View Post
Hi TS00,

ACC is off and I did everything else on your list... but the quad just flips over very aggressively.
Almost certainly one or more of the motors are spinning the wrong way, or you have the wrong prop on.
TS00 is offline Find More Posts by TS00
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 09:44 AM
Bitten by the RC Bug....
vineet_p's Avatar
India, Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad
Joined Aug 2011
789 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUV View Post
but the quad just flips over very aggressively.
AUV
Hah! Another reversed sensor axis orientation case! (that is, ofcourse if this is not due to reverse prop rotation.)

Most people who say their quad 'flips over' have their sensor axis orientations reversed. For eg, watch this video, if the same thing is happening with your quad, you're sure the axis (or axes) are reversed:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSjNAbCrrL0

Okay, so here's how to correct it:

Go to the GUI, check whether the following things happen or not.

----------------------------------------------------------
TILT the MULTI to the RIGHT (left side up):

MAG_ROLL, ACC_ROLL and GYRO_ROLL goes up
MAG_Z and ACC_Z goes down

TILT the MULTI forward (tail up):

MAG_PITCH, ACC_PITCH and GYRO_PITCH goes up
MAG_Z and ACC_Z goes down

Rotating the copter clockwise (YAW):

GYRO_YAW goes up

The copter stays level:

MAG_Z is positive ; ACC_Z is positive

----------------------------------------------------------

(courtesy: multiwii.com/faq#How_should_be_the_sensor_axis_directions)


So you see that when you tilt your quad to right, GYRO_ROLL must go UP. But if it goes down, NOTE THAT. Then go to the arduino sketch, (def.h), change the Gyro_orienation ROLL value to the opposite. (ie. if it's x, change it to -x)
Then check all the orientations for all the sensors (gyro acc mag baro)


Hope this helps.

Vineet

EDIT: I've typed the last part pretty hurriedly, so didn't explain in detail. You can ask me or anyone once again if you didn't get it.

EDIT2: This is an extension of what chaosdestro0 has said two posts up from here.
vineet_p is offline Find More Posts by vineet_p
Last edited by vineet_p; Jul 12, 2012 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:18 AM
AUV
Registered User
Joined May 2012
97 Posts
I will try as soon as I get home.
Thanks!!!
AUV
AUV is offline Find More Posts by AUV
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:26 AM
Bitten by the RC Bug....
vineet_p's Avatar
India, Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad
Joined Aug 2011
789 Posts
Good luck.
vineet_p is offline Find More Posts by vineet_p
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 09:18 PM
AUV
Registered User
Joined May 2012
97 Posts
Hi,

I got 2.0 load and the quad is now behaving consistently! :-)

TILT to the RIGHT:
ACC_ROLL negative
GYRO_ROLL negative but very small (-2)

TILT the MULTI forward:
ACC_ROLL negative
GYRO_ROLL negative but very small (-2)

The copter stays level:
ACC_Z is positive

When I try to fly it it hovers but spins like a top :-)

What do you think?

Thanks!!!
AUV

p.s. below is how the props spin:
AUV is offline Find More Posts by AUV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion MultiWii Conf GUI in Linux Katch Multirotor Talk 10 Mar 13, 2014 09:21 PM
Discussion Need help setting up Kanchana Multiwii board in GUI crash821 Multirotor Talk 1 Apr 09, 2012 02:15 PM
Discussion Bluetooth GUI MultiWii with WIDCOM drivers Katch Multirotor Talk 0 Aug 30, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion Multiwii and gui 1.8 JohnyGab Multirotor Talk 0 Aug 26, 2011 09:47 PM
Discussion MultiWii GUI freeze troubleshooting power Multirotor Talk 16 May 08, 2011 03:14 PM