Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:51 PM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,642 Posts
Current Draw 777

Quote:
Originally Posted by F-86FLIER4LIFE View Post
Yeah, when I saw it only takes about 20-40 amps, I felt like it would be a better match, still in search for the fan unit though
Measured 28.7 Amps and 332 watts with Gens Ace 3800/25C 3S after 15 seconds. (1 motor, of course). Motor and battery were just warm after 3 minutes of 2/3rd to a few full throttle bursts. One of the ESC's started to vary the speed and was hotter than the other one. I'll have to check its program to see if its timing is different from the other.
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:54 PM
Landin' On The Canopy BAD
F-86FLIER4LIFE's Avatar
Lee's Summit, MO
Joined Jan 2008
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaguy View Post
Measured 28.7 Amps and 332 watts with Gens Ace 3800/25C 3S after 15 seconds. (1 motor, of course). Motor and battery were just warm after 3 minutes of 2/3rd to a few full throttle bursts. One of the ESC's started to vary the speed and was hotter than the other one. I'll have to check its program to see if its timing is different from the other.
dude your awesome! do you think that those motors would fit these fans? http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...inch_64mm.html
F-86FLIER4LIFE is offline Find More Posts by F-86FLIER4LIFE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:01 PM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,642 Posts
Wing Tube Defect

Ready to join the wings, but noticed the tube near the leading edge of the left wing is not aligned properly. See photos.....what now??
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:04 PM
Landin' On The Canopy BAD
F-86FLIER4LIFE's Avatar
Lee's Summit, MO
Joined Jan 2008
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaguy View Post
Ready to join the wings, but noticed the tube near the leading edge of the left wing is not aligned properly. See photos.....what now??
You could possibly drill out a new hole, but you would probably have to epoxy the tube into place, as it would have a bit of wiggle room. The hole isn't that deep I think a long drill bit could do the trick if your careful with it
F-86FLIER4LIFE is offline Find More Posts by F-86FLIER4LIFE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:06 PM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-86FLIER4LIFE View Post
dude your awesome! do you think that those motors would fit these fans? http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...inch_64mm.html
That is just the fan unit.....What motor are you talking about?
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:12 PM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-86FLIER4LIFE View Post
You could possibly drill out a new hole, but you would probably have to epoxy the tube into place, as it would have a bit of wiggle room. The hole isn't that deep I think a long drill bit could do the trick if your careful with it
You are correct, I assumed that the internal tubes were glued into the wing....but I just found that I was able to pull it out. Ergo: no big deal....I can fix that!

Now, If I can just get some ESC programming info from Ming
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 07:17 PM
Landin' On The Canopy BAD
F-86FLIER4LIFE's Avatar
Lee's Summit, MO
Joined Jan 2008
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaguy View Post
That is just the fan unit.....What motor are you talking about?
I mean the stock motors that came with the plane. They surprisingly enough survived the crash, not even a scratch on em.
F-86FLIER4LIFE is offline Find More Posts by F-86FLIER4LIFE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:07 PM
Registered User
Doug W's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Jul 2010
433 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaguy View Post
He may be referring to the Chinese copy of the real "Deans" plug. The real Deans are rated for up to 90amps. I have never had a problem with genuine Deans.

Most of my connections use XT60 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Nylon_XT60_Con

nectors_Male_Female_5_pairs_GENUINE.html NEVER had any issues with them!

I just received some 90amp rated XT90's for future use... http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Nylon_XT90_Co

nnectors_Male_5pcs_bag_.html
Thanks Gary- that's what I use on all my aircraft- XT60s.
Doug W is offline Find More Posts by Doug W
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:12 PM
Registered User
Doug W's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Jul 2010
433 Posts
ESCs?

OK, stupid question, as I am an aerodynamicist, not an EDF guy...can I just put bigger (higher amp) ESCs such as 60Amps and run the 777 on 4S? Or will the stock motors not handle it? I want more power but I don't want to blow $300 on more power for a daily flyer.
Doug W is offline Find More Posts by Doug W
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:21 PM
Landin' On The Canopy BAD
F-86FLIER4LIFE's Avatar
Lee's Summit, MO
Joined Jan 2008
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug W View Post
OK, stupid question, as I am an aerodynamicist, not an EDF guy...can I just put bigger (higher amp) ESCs such as 60Amps and run the 777 on 4S? Or will the stock motors not handle it? I want more power but I don't want to blow $300 on more power for a daily flyer.
Your gonna have to change out the motors I think, to my belief they can only handle a 3S system.
F-86FLIER4LIFE is offline Find More Posts by F-86FLIER4LIFE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:28 PM
Registered User
United States, OK, Lawton
Joined Dec 2012
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaguy View Post
They may be made by HobbyWing, but are not compatable with the "Turnigy" program card.....tried mine, no go Did you ever get any ESC info from Ming?
Bama
Yes I did he was very quick in his response. He said the later 777's are supplied with ZTW 30A esc's went out and just printed the manual for the ESC will review the manual tomorrow. I like to have all data in a packet for all my models, just need to know the Motor and EDF model numbers and all will be fantastic forgot to ask for that info, hate to be the new guy that bugs a person death, grin.
Plankdriver6 is online now Find More Posts by Plankdriver6
Last edited by Plankdriver6; Dec 28, 2012 at 08:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:28 PM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-86FLIER4LIFE View Post
I mean the stock motors that came with the plane. They surprisingly enough survived the crash, not even a scratch on em.
I'm sure they will fit, but we don't know their kv.....I've sent an e-mail to Ming about that and about programming info on those 30amp ESC's.

If the kv is 4200 to 4400, they should be fine. It will take a few more amps to turn that 7 blade rotor than the stock rotor, most likely.
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:32 PM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-86FLIER4LIFE View Post
Your gonna have to change out the motors I think, to my belief they can only handle a 3S system.
Yes, 3S only....,I recall that Ming addressed that question a while back

A pair of these will do nicely on 4S..... http://www.hobbypartz.com/75m91-duct...ProductReviews
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Last edited by bamaguy; Dec 28, 2012 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:41 PM
Registered User
United States, OK, Lawton
Joined Dec 2012
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaguy View Post
I'm sure they will fit, but we don't know their kv.....I've sent an e-mail to Ming about that and about programming info on those 30amp ESC's.

If the kv is 4200 to 4400, they should be fine. It will take a few more amps to turn that 7 blade rotor than the stock rotor, most likely.
If you get the motor and fan info, would you mind posting.
Plankdriver6 is online now Find More Posts by Plankdriver6
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:44 PM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plankdriver6 View Post
If you get the motor and fan info, would you mind posting.
I sure will
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Boeing 777 200LR foam and tape RC Airliners (Commercial, Cargo, Troop Carrier) 317 Jan 27, 2013 05:01 PM
Wanted Wtb: Windrider boeing 737 hi2nr Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Jun 08, 2012 12:36 PM
Discussion Boeing 777-200LR Twin 90mm project NickM91 Scratchbuilt EDFs 20 Jul 10, 2011 08:40 AM
Boeing 777-200/300 Sections Guybo Fuel Jet Talk 3 Jun 15, 2002 07:04 PM
boeing 777 nacelle jermaine Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 1 May 20, 2002 01:24 AM