HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 10, 2012, 07:15 AM
Joined May 2010
16 Posts
Discussion
charge rate for lipo

hi all

i have only ever had glow planes to date, just got my first electric and have an imax 6 charger. i have 3 cell 1800mah lipo battery.

* what is the recomended charge current, the charger has a range of .5 to 5 amps.
* should i balance everytime i charge
* how often should i dicharge the battery
captain wise is offline Find More Posts by captain wise
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 10, 2012, 07:37 AM
no discrimination, I crash all
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Nov 2011
272 Posts
I'm no expert but I would recommend start with charging at 1C for all your batteries. As you get more comfortable with lipo's you can charge at higher rates (depends on battery). Alot of the newer batteries you can charge at higher C rates (charge rates) which will get your batteries charged much faster. You will have to read on each battery to see what the manufacturer recommends.

For your battery above set charger to 3cell type lipo, and your charge rate would be 1.8amp (1C rate).

I don't usually discharge my batteries on any regular basis. I do this by flying the battery.

Another important thing to remember is to not drain your lipo's down to low (below 3.2 volts per individual cell).

The other thing to remember is it is always a good idea to store your lipo's at around 3.85 volts per cell. Most new chargers will have a storage mode on them. You should also charge in a lipo bag or fire safe container. Also I store them in ammo cans on concrete floor. And NEVER charge unattended (go to bed etc...)

ALOT of the horror stories about lipo's come from over/undercharging or discharging lipo's.

I balance charge every charge, but others state that you are ok with only balance charging every few charges.

There is a thread on here all about lipo charging and safety. A good idea to read up on it first.

Good Luck.
ncsky is offline Find More Posts by ncsky