HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 09, 2012, 04:45 PM
Slow Hawk 4
United States, WA, Kirkland
Joined Jul 2012
14 Posts
Discussion
New SlowHawk 4 arrived

Last week I received my SlowHawk 4 -- thanks, Sean!

Because I am totally new to R/C, I also ordered a Radio & accessories kit (FS-CT6B)

Soon, I'll start assembly and figure out how all of this works. No hurry -- I've got a lot to learn.

Today I joined RCGroups, too. Great discussions, answers, and photos here.

If anyone else in the Seattle/Eastside area has a Kinkade ornithopter, perhaps you'd be interested in piloting this bird's maiden voyage. Let me know--thanks

It would also probably be helpful for me to double-check the setup of the bird and radio, and then to observe how to fly before taking the sticks myself.

In any case, I'll likely post some follow up reports. There are sure to be other rookies out there who may benefit as well.

Bob
Stallman is offline Find More Posts by Stallman
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 09, 2012, 04:55 PM
Joined Apr 2006
1,876 Posts
Welcome to the magic world of SK ornis.
LifeisGood is offline Find More Posts by LifeisGood
Old Jul 09, 2012, 05:11 PM
RC Guy Having Fun!
Joined Apr 2010
432 Posts
Ditto! Aero
Aeronut41 is offline Find More Posts by Aeronut41
Old Jul 09, 2012, 06:31 PM
Joined Apr 2012
215 Posts
Just got mine up today for the first time ! It was fantistic! Made a few mistakes along the way. With the help from the guys here you will be OK! Other than assembly, battery placement was important!! I don't know much but would be happy to help you so you don't make the same mistakes I did. Buck
Buck Shot is offline Find More Posts by Buck Shot
Old Jul 16, 2012, 07:24 PM
Slow Hawk 4
Joined Jul 2012
14 Posts
Thanks!
I've not yet flown, but am getting close...
Basically, everything is together.

I'm not sure exactly where the center of gravity should be, but currently I've got it set for about 5" behind the wing spar. Does that sound about right?