SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 08, 2012, 04:16 AM
Registered User
Australia, WA, Mandurah
Joined Apr 2012
260 Posts
Discussion
Flymentor/FBL

I've got a flymentor set-up on the way, planning on fitting it to one of my 450 clones, seeing I've got 2 of them plus a 450 X and a MCPX. I'm still trying to get as much stick time with the others, but would love a nice big helo that I can just fly without plummeting to the ground and doing damage every time. I would also like to mount my GoPro up to it, which I'm definitely not prepared to do with my flying skills ATM!

Both the clones are flybarred, but is there any way of using FM with a FBL helo should I decide to upgrade at a later date? I know the FM control module won't control the FBL system, but can the 2 systems be linked?

Cheers
Angrydad is offline Find More Posts by Angrydad
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2012, 06:20 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Springfield
Joined Jul 2010
3,496 Posts
get a sim
the Flymentor can be used with some FBL systems if setup right but it takes a lot of work
and imo it wont always save you

get a sim learn to fly your going to crash at some point no matter what
Elios000 is offline Find More Posts by Elios000
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 07:02 AM
Registered User
Australia, WA, Mandurah
Joined Apr 2012
260 Posts
I'm not looking at it for a flight trainer - I've got Phoenix and a MCPX for that! More a project and something to film with.
Angrydad is offline Find More Posts by Angrydad
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 07:17 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Springfield
Joined Jul 2010
3,496 Posts
it wont hold that still
you need a quad or some thing made for that like the Helicomand rigid
Elios000 is offline Find More Posts by Elios000
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 07:52 AM
Registered User
Australia, WA, Mandurah
Joined Apr 2012
260 Posts
I'm still interested in setting it up and seeing how well it works. Just curious as to whether or not I can upgrade to FBL later or not though?

I do plan on building a quad one day - got enough on my plate for the moment though!
Angrydad is offline Find More Posts by Angrydad
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2012, 07:49 AM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,439 Posts
I"ve seen people ask this several times over the past 2 years. Not seen anyone do it.
Don't think it's worth the trouble. Learn on the FM and a FB system, then move on is my opinion. You should not have to use the flymentor more than a year before you move on unless you dont get much if any stick time.

Flymentor review and links
'
'
KDS Flymentor quick review (12 min 13 sec)
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Last edited by Melnic; Jul 18, 2012 at 08:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Flymentor 3D & Multirotors? Bearsa LLC Multirotor Talk 6 Apr 16, 2013 03:56 PM
Discussion hk 450 pro tt with flymentor gandal Mini Helis 0 Jun 25, 2012 03:58 AM
Discussion Futaba T8J and Flymentor Felix the kat Radios 1 Jun 15, 2012 10:10 PM
Help! FBL setting, Flymentor alex_rozzi Electric Heli Talk 3 Jul 19, 2011 01:27 AM
For Sale Trex 250SE FBL, Gaui 200 V2 FBL, Gaui 200 V2, All BNF OCFly Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 May 22, 2011 03:02 AM