SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 13, 2003, 01:52 PM
Will Crash for Food...
Orange County, CA
Joined Apr 2002
419 Posts
Balsa vs. Depron weight...

How much heavier is Balsa than Depron (zepron, FFF, etc...)?

I have a Potensky Eagle that had the control horns pull out of both the elevator and rudder. Both were white foam (similar to FFF). It was suprisingly stiff, but kept cracking no matter how many times I glued the horns back in.

I replaced them both with 3/16" balsa, but now the plane is very tail heavy. I moved the battery (2s2p Etec 1200's) 2" forward, but it's still tail heave. Obviously, the balsa is much heavier.

My question is: If I find the standard blue fan fold foam, is it going to be as heavy as the Balsa? Will it be stiff enough to work as large surface Elevator and Rudder? Obviously, I have no experience with Bluecore, FFF, Depron, etc.

Any suggestions will be greaty appeciated.

Blackwood
Mighty Dingus is offline Find More Posts by Mighty Dingus
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2003, 02:02 PM
coventry uk
Joined Nov 2002
824 Posts
i would go for 3mm depron, for its weight is very stiff and weighs much less than balsa. look at the 'mini gee bee' in door prop hanger with really big control serfaces made from 3mm depron.

t.n
t.nollett is offline Find More Posts by t.nollett
Old Nov 13, 2003, 02:20 PM
Trapped in California
United States, CA, Arcadia
Joined Nov 2003
1,857 Posts
Use the Depron. Balsa of all grades is usually heavier, but it depends upon the balsa sheet thickness. Thinner balsa sheets tends to be more dense than thicker sheets.
foamflyer is offline Find More Posts by foamflyer
Old Nov 13, 2003, 03:22 PM
Will Crash for Food...
Orange County, CA
Joined Apr 2002
419 Posts
Now the trick is finding Depron tonight. I hate having a plane sitting there waiting for me to fly it... All it needs is about 10 mintues of work to get the new Tail feathers on it, if I can find Depron locally.

Thanks for the help.