SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:24 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
467 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashpilot1000 View Post
@sskaug:
"But there is something fishy going on ..."
I think the same.
My setup: apm2.0, no quattro just 4 single skywalker 20A ESC, Motors: Robbe roxxy 2827-26 with APC SF 10x4.7.
Everything is soldered - so easy swapping the esc between motors is not possible. These motors are not very old and experienced no serious crash - not even a broken prop . They turn easily. Before mounting them i checked them for a short between phase and housing ( i always do that after some bad experience with some emax models)

I am just happy the thing flies again and that i could turn up the rate_P by 40%.

Greets
Kraut Rob
Great! Still I would like to know more about what is going on...
So now there is a Robbe roxxy 2827-26 with APC SF 10x4.7 on it's way to me
sskaug is offline Find More Posts by sskaug
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
34 Posts
Quote:
Great! Still I would like to know more about what is going on...
So now there is a Robbe roxxy 2827-26 with APC SF 10x4.7 on it's way to me
Simply WOW !!!
It will be very interesting what you can turn up!
Cheers
Rob
Crashpilot1000 is offline Find More Posts by Crashpilot1000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:48 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
467 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashpilot1000 View Post
Simply WOW !!!
It will be very interesting what you can turn up!
Cheers
Rob
We'll see in a couple of weeks
I assume that with that prop you run on 2S?

Edit: BTW the problems you see on first throttle with the main FW is probably the 5 sec spoolup that is required by a heli main.
sskaug is offline Find More Posts by sskaug
Last edited by sskaug; Jan 21, 2013 at 03:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 03:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
34 Posts
I use 3S lipo. I know the robbe site tells you 10inch on 2S but if you ecalc them 3s on apc 10/4.7 is fine. This combination is not rare
Thanks for the 5sec spoolup info!!
Crashpilot1000 is offline Find More Posts by Crashpilot1000
Last edited by Crashpilot1000; Jan 21, 2013 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:12 PM
Stop me before I build again!
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Sep 2012
1,320 Posts
FYI.

No problems whatsoever with plush 10a on 9.4 running a 2900kv with 4x2.5 driven off of 3s.
brontide is offline Find More Posts by brontide
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:21 PM
:)
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Sep 2012
3,665 Posts
Steffen,

Can you PM me your PayPal address and cost of the motor?

I'm happy to make a contribution in thanks for your efforts?

Do you have a SunnySky X2212 980KV to test the Skywalkers on? That's the combo I'd like to use.

Maybe I could buy you one of those if not? Nice motors
Soma is offline Find More Posts by Soma
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
467 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soma View Post
Steffen,

Can you PM me your PayPal address and cost of the motor?

I'm happy to make a contribution in thanks for your efforts?

Do you have a SunnySky X2212 980KV to test the Skywalkers on? That's the combo I'd like to use.

Maybe I could buy you one of those if not? Nice motors
Thanks for the offer! If your motors do not run properly, then I'd be happy to have one to investigate
sskaug is offline Find More Posts by sskaug
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:10 AM
:)
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Sep 2012
3,665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sskaug View Post
Thanks for the offer! If your motors do not run properly, then I'd be happy to have one to investigate
If you don't have one I'll buy one and get it shipped to you. They're really nice motors. Just PM me your address or email and I'll email you.

I appreciate your effort mate

Cheers.
Soma is offline Find More Posts by Soma
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
34 Posts
@sskaug: Is there a way to remove the 5 sec spoolup time by setting startup power to 1.5 (govenor is off)?
Greets
Kraut Rob
Crashpilot1000 is offline Find More Posts by Crashpilot1000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
467 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soma View Post
If you don't have one I'll buy one and get it shipped to you. They're really nice motors. Just PM me your address or email and I'll email you.

I appreciate your effort mate

Cheers.
Thanks, appreciated PM sent.
sskaug is offline Find More Posts by sskaug
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:39 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
467 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashpilot1000 View Post
@sskaug: Is there a way to remove the 5 sec spoolup time by setting startup power to 1.5 (govenor is off)?
Greets
Kraut Rob
The spoolup time can not be removed from the main code. Also there is a very fast stop on zero throttle for main, that is not desirable in a multi.
But there should not be much differences between main and multi code when running, apart from the default settings. By using the same settings for pwm frequency and demag compensation, running behaviour should be very similar.
To me it looks like the Robbe motor is a bit out of the ordinary, with 14 poles. Maybe it has high inductance and long demagnetization time? The BLHeli code has a very fast throttle response, it can go from very low throttle to full throttle instantly. And some motors can not handle that. Have you tested if the motor responds well to an instant increase from very low throttle to full throttle?
In case you want to play with settings, and the motor has long demag time, playing with the demag compensation setting and reducing the throttle change rate parameter may give you a well working system. Or, otherwise, wait till I have looked at it
sskaug is offline Find More Posts by sskaug
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
34 Posts
@sskaug: Currently i can not test full throttle on my quad because everything is soldered and holding it with one hand and giving full thr with the other is too risky for me.....
As we speak i am messing around with the settings of the 9.4 main to eliminate the spool up thing. Good that i looked here...
So if i flash it to 9.4 multi wich settings should i use for demag etc to act the same like the 9.4 main?
Cheers
Kraut Rob
Crashpilot1000 is offline Find More Posts by Crashpilot1000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
467 Posts
You can see all the settings, their defaults and descriptions here: https://github.com/bitdump/BLHeli/bl...x.pdf?raw=true
sskaug is offline Find More Posts by sskaug
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:00 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
34 Posts
Thanks! I will try the some settings with the multi FW... reporting later...
Crashpilot1000 is offline Find More Posts by Crashpilot1000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:54 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
34 Posts
Hahahahah now i killed one ESC it heats up now and motor won't spin any more, reflashing with "main" was successful but esc heats up - he is dead now.
I am out of this thread now.

Goodbye
Kraut Rob
Crashpilot1000 is offline Find More Posts by Crashpilot1000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found forget the plush, i need 5x 30 amp esc that i can flash, no plush !!! crash8384 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 14 Jun 25, 2012 04:10 AM
Discussion is it possible to flash the Flycam Blackboard w/ 4.7kk X betito Multirotor Talk 2 May 03, 2012 03:12 PM
Discussion Silabs 8051 ESC (Turnigy Subperbrain) Firmware nickax Multirotor Talk 2 Jan 30, 2012 12:11 AM
Sold 2 Turnigy Plush 10 amp ESCs + 1 Turnigy 5A UBEC + 1 Turnigy Programming Card - $21 shawn595 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 2 Apr 02, 2011 01:30 PM
Discussion Is it possible to convert TURNIGY Plush 30A ESC's from PWM to TWI/I2C control benbois DIY Electronics 0 Dec 17, 2008 12:56 PM