HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 05, 2012, 04:52 AM
KISS
Joined Oct 2009
1,217 Posts
Question
What can be causing this (Eagle Eyes black&white video problem)

Any of you with idea what might be causing this kind of video problem?

Eagle Tree, Eagle Eyes generating noise (0 min 20 sec)

There are two 1.2Ghz video receivers hooked up to Eagle Eyes inputs and Fatshark goggles and Aiptek MPVR on the outputs. Camcorder that in any other configuration (with video splitter for example) is working flawlesly is recording (and displaying) this kind of picture only when hooked up to Eagle Eyes output. Fatsharks are showing correct picture all the time.

Already tried different output ports, other set of cables etc.
hefest is offline Find More Posts by hefest
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 05, 2012, 10:13 AM
Joined May 2012
69 Posts
I have no experience with this hardware in particular - but 2 common generic causes to intermittant loss of colour content in analogue video are:

- current or voltage drop between video camera and display or recorder.
- conflicts in video signal processing and/or hardware components e,g, component to composite (or the other way round).
CryptoHawk is offline Find More Posts by CryptoHawk
Old Jul 05, 2012, 11:12 AM
NKK for short...
United States, IN, Mitchell
Joined Oct 2010
216 Posts
I don't know what would cause it, but it almost looks like NTSC and PAL signals are being mixed.
nkkromhof is offline Find More Posts by nkkromhof
Old Jul 05, 2012, 06:26 PM
Joined May 2012
69 Posts
Very possible.......

Playing a PAL video camera signal through NTSC monitor can cause:

- rolling screen
- blank screen

Playing an NTSC video camera signal through a PAL monitor can cause:

- intermittent black & white frames
- a blank screen or
- what folk call in the trade “picture tearing”

You know the old definition for NTSCNever The Same Color Twice.
The definition stems from the color variance flaw - a well known problem in the NTSC format.