HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 04, 2012, 02:10 PM
Joined Jul 2012
6 Posts
Discussion
Control, channels, mixing and servo query - absolute beginner!

Hello there, I'm completely new to the RC flying scene and I have been throwing caution to the wind in order to have a bit of fun with a first-time project.

Here is my query, my model is a bi-plane (think Sopwith Camel) to have an elevator, a rudder and four ailerons. My initial plan was to have one channel for yaw control via the rudder, one channel for elevator control and two channels for the aileron sets (left and right). Each of these channels using one respective servo. (It may be possible to initially just use the elevator and rudder for flight making this question redundant but I will aim to have aileron control at the end of the day). So, getting to the point, how do I configure the controls to allow for the ailerons to all move in the same direction when the elevator is used AND get them to move in opposite directions for cornering/rolling?

I've heard the term mixing floating around but I'm not sure what this involves; would it be the case that I could mix the pitch control of both the elevator and the ailerons onto a single channel?

Also, how could the aileron servos be configured such that one channel can be used for 'left and right', as it were, it seems that needing to use a channel for each side seems a bit complex - can servo wires be connected such that multiple channels' signals can affect the same servo?

I'm not sure I've explained myself as succinctly as possible, but rather than toying around with servo connections and rendering tens of pounds worth of equipment unusable, I thought I'd seek some advice.

Regards,

Asa.
Asatorae is offline Find More Posts by Asatorae
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 04, 2012, 03:22 PM
United States, OR, Canby
Joined Aug 2011
2,437 Posts