SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 12, 2003, 04:17 PM
Alphabandaid
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Joined May 2003
1,259 Posts
8/3 vs 3/2 mm HB Cutdown Stock Blades

Totally stock setup with 370 motor.
Some say cutdown stock blades 8mm at root, 3mm at the tip, others say 3mm a root, 2 mm at the tip. Any concensus on which is best.
As a newbie my first flight is with 3/2mm stock cutodown blades. I just break ground effect with fresh 2s lipo packand full throttle. Would the great er cutback decrease the throttle demands?
wonder what others suggest.
FYI, Devocon Plastic Weld at Wal Mart works outstansding with the stock blades for repiars. Woudl never have thought I could fix the stock tail rotor. Of course they need to be rebalanced after.
Stuka/Alphabnandaid
aplphabandaid is offline Find More Posts by aplphabandaid
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 12, 2003, 04:55 PM
"Simplify, then add lightness"
Raleigh,NC
Joined Nov 2000
2,701 Posts
With the cut blades, you will probably want either a larger pinion, or a 3 cell LiPoly. I cut some old blades to 8mm-3mm and they worked great for the first couple minutes on a 2 cell etec 1200, but after a few minutes would not get out of ground effect. You could try twisting more pitch into your cut blades. I went back to the stock blades and just twisted them to flatten the pitch and get higher head speed.

Jeff
jeffs555 is offline Find More Posts by jeffs555
Old Nov 12, 2003, 05:05 PM
Newcastle Australia
Joined Nov 2002
894 Posts
So you can just break ground effect with full throttle. You will be having much more control with you higher head speed but please remember that you should cut your blades and make a head stiffener. the head stiffener will help with lift a little also.

Also remember that if you are only learning to hover that this mod is not essential. It becomes essential when you want to do FFF.