SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 03, 2012, 03:02 PM
Joined May 2012
1,074 Posts
Build Log
HZ Champ to Birddog Kit Bash

Its been a while since I built an airplane, and I have NEVER worked in foam before but, OK ya talked me into it.

When I first saw the u/m HZ Champ, the very first thing I noticed was the number of other a/c it could be turned into. A little filling, a little trimming, a little sanding and the Champ could be almost ANYTHING. But first I had to learn to fly R/C. Id been trying off and on for YEARS to learn how and the Champ served the purpose. I aint the Ace of the Base but after a month or so, Im doing pretty good. While I was learning I destroyed a wing and tweaked the fuselage good a couple times. Last week the elevator tore in half. I bought a couple spare wings and I just got a replacement tail and then I found a whole replacement fuselage WITH motor, brick and servos for like $10.00. So now I have a new Champ to continue to learn to fly with and an older Champ to get me back into one of my first loves building airplanes.

Since I found this web forum I have been reading myself cross-eyed catching up on what has been going on since I left the hobby about 15 years ago. Folks here are very kind in helping NUBEs here and this is a GREAT place to learn. There is a WORLD of info on this site it is WAY better than ANY magazine.

CREDS WHERE CREDS ARE DUE: While doing this project I have been greatly helped by the threads and posts relative to (among others) gkleins AT6 build (in progress) and Speedy and mtflyrs build threads. If stealing building techniques were a felony Id get the electric chair. Thanks guys!