SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 02, 2012, 11:28 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Santa Monica
Joined Jul 2011
498 Posts
Discussion
Toggle switch, how to connect to battery?

I have a SPST illuminated switch that I would like to use as a kill switch in my 12v battery powered fpv ground station. After researching online, I still really couldn't figure out how to wire this switch. There are three prongs coming out of the switch, one is ground, one is ACC, and one is the +. How should I connect this to my main battery so that when I flip the switch, it will cut off the circuit and also light up when I flip it on?

All help appreciated, thanks!
Lpbug is offline Find More Posts by Lpbug
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2012, 11:49 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
Before connecting to power I would check this with a meter -
The negative side of the battery goes to GROUND
Positive side of the battery goes to +
and your load (what you want to turn on/off) goes to ACC.
The thinking here is that + gets switched to your load (ACC) and where one side of the light is.
Ground powers the other side of the light.
I would check with a meter first but I am pretty sure that is how to wire that switch.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 02, 2012, 11:58 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Santa Monica
Joined Jul 2011
498 Posts
Well, I have and xt-60 connector with my main battery, I'm thinking about making a 3 way splitter so I can power more devices at one time with the battery. In between the 3 way splitter and the original xt 60 connector on the battery I want to somehow implement the switch. If I connect the red wire on my splitter to the ACC prong, what do I connect the black (ground) wire to?
Lpbug is offline Find More Posts by Lpbug
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 12:06 AM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpbug View Post
Well, I have and xt-60 connector with my main battery, I'm thinking about making a 3 way splitter so I can power more devices at one time with the battery. In between the 3 way splitter and the original xt 60 connector on the battery I want to somehow implement the switch. If I connect the red wire on my splitter to the ACC prong, what do I connect the black (ground) wire to?
I am not following about the splitter.
But wire the battery red to +
Wire load red to ACC
And wire Black battery and black load to ground.

Something you need to be careful of is the load you will be running through that switch.
That will have to be a pretty stout switch depending on what you are powering.
The voltage drop across the switch and associated wiring may cause some problems and heat.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 12:36 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Santa Monica
Joined Jul 2011
498 Posts
So I pretty much want a switch in between two xt-60 connectors. So I will wire the red to the + prong from the first xt 60 (one connected to the battery), put the load red wire on the acc prong, and black wire to ground?

like this?
Lpbug is offline Find More Posts by Lpbug
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 09:22 AM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
That should do it.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 08:32 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Santa Monica
Joined Jul 2011
498 Posts
Thanks a lot for your help good sir.
Lpbug is offline Find More Posts by Lpbug
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Futaba 7C - How do I connect battery, receiver, & switch harness? Killionaire Radios 6 Nov 01, 2013 12:20 PM
Discussion finding a way to use a switch at the battery connection vcazan Multirotor Talk 17 May 11, 2012 02:18 PM
Question Can I replace the trainer toggle switch with a DPDT toggle switch in a Futaba EX6AP? shawn595 Radios 2 Jan 01, 2011 05:50 PM
Discussion How to remotely operately from Tx using spare toggle switch? NicoP51 Power Systems 2 Aug 08, 2010 02:53 PM
Discussion How I connect two MPI switchs with one A123 battery brunito Batteries and Chargers 4 May 08, 2008 06:55 PM