HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 05, 2012, 08:23 AM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
3rd stone from the sun
Joined May 2007
2,670 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessestr View Post
Do you know the name of that particular team member?

Thanks
http://forum.autoquad.org/memberlist...ewprofile&u=63
JussiH is offline Find More Posts by JussiH
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 05, 2012, 08:39 AM
Registered User
BelgiŽ, Vlaams Gewest, Evergem
Joined Nov 2011
738 Posts
Thanks sir!
Jessestr is offline Find More Posts by Jessestr
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 09:37 AM
Registered User
United States, KY, Morehead
Joined Jan 2005
154 Posts
My quad is almost ready couple of days for number crunching by my computer and my AQ6 will be ready for first flight
skew is offline Find More Posts by skew
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 09:42 AM
Registered User
BelgiŽ, Vlaams Gewest, Evergem
Joined Nov 2011
738 Posts
Just to check my pc requirements for the calibration parts:

Intel Core i7 2630QM @ 2Ghz SandyBridge.. No IvyBridge yet
8GB 1337Mhz DDR3 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX460M 1.5GB DDR5 VRAM (Won't need GPU for calibrations normally..)


Got 4 cores and 8 threads.. All running at 2Ghz and they are overclocked until 2.9Ghz when necessary. Cooling isn't a problem.

Enough to complete calcs in less then 24hours?
Jessestr is offline Find More Posts by Jessestr
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 11:04 AM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
3rd stone from the sun
Joined May 2007
2,670 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessestr View Post
Just to check my pc requirements for the calibration parts:

Intel Core i7 2630QM @ 2Ghz SandyBridge.. No IvyBridge yet
8GB 1337Mhz DDR3 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX460M 1.5GB DDR5 VRAM (Won't need GPU for calibrations normally..)


Got 4 cores and 8 threads.. All running at 2Ghz and they are overclocked until 2.9Ghz when necessary. Cooling isn't a problem.

Enough to complete calcs in less then 24hours?
'

I have successfully used a i7 Q720 @ 1,6 GHz so you should be fine...
JussiH is offline Find More Posts by JussiH
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 05, 2012, 11:45 AM
Registered User
United States, MN, St Cloud
Joined Jan 2012
477 Posts
When calibrating can I mount the fc on a quad to do the dance then remove it and mount it on my hex or octo. It would be easier todo the calibration withless arms in the way
richkphoto is offline Find More Posts by richkphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 11:48 AM
Registered User
BelgiŽ, Vlaams Gewest, Evergem
Joined Nov 2011
738 Posts
As far as I read you can't because the magnetic profile of your quad is different than your hexa or octo. And probably way more factors than that
Jessestr is offline Find More Posts by Jessestr
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 11:50 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
When calibrating can I mount the fc on a quad to do the dance then remove it and mount it on my hex or octo. It would be easier todo the calibration withless arms in the way
Well, the aim of the Calibso is to calibrate your FC on a full set up aircraft.
Doing it with a another frame would be kinda cheating.
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 12:15 PM
Registered User
United States, MN, St Cloud
Joined Jan 2012
477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Well, the aim of the Calibso is to calibrate your FC on a full set up aircraft.
Doing it with a another frame would be kinda cheating.
Hey I'm old so lifting lighter weight isn't cheating at my age, it's preserving whats left of my body
richkphoto is offline Find More Posts by richkphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 12:39 PM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
3rd stone from the sun
Joined May 2007
2,670 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richkphoto View Post
Hey I'm old so lifting lighter weight isn't cheating at my age, it's preserving whats left of my body
This is NOT an "official" recommandation....

If you build your frame with stainless/nonmagnetic hardware, and take great care to braid/twist wires and avoid loop/hoops in the wiring, I have found that you can actually move boards between frames and still get a decent result.

But its recommended to calibrate in the actual frame you plan to fly it in, since that is the only way to make sure all soft and hard iron effects are taken into account for the compass.
JussiH is offline Find More Posts by JussiH
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 05, 2012, 06:24 PM
youtube.com/#/user/flyrobots
Indonesia
Joined Apr 2011
239 Posts
Hi,

Im preparing to build the frame (using flyduino FCP) with motors and ESC for dynamic calibration calibso dance step.
What is your recommendation to put the ESC (F-20A simonk fw)? Under centreplate (will it disturb the mag) or near the motors (not so nice looking).

Thanks,

John
Flyrobot is offline Find More Posts by Flyrobot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 06:25 PM
Registered User
BelgiŽ, Vlaams Gewest, Evergem
Joined Nov 2011
738 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyrobot View Post
Hi,

Im preparing to build the frame (using flyduino FCP) with motors and ESC for dynamic calibration calibso dance step.
What is your recommendation to put the ESC (F-20A simonk fw)? Under centreplate (will it disturb the mag) or near the motors (not so nice looking).

Thanks,

John
Actually the same question and frame.
Will use the Flyduino FCP HL.

I think the dynamic calibrations should filter out the magnetic things of your esc there.. Well at least that is what I think..
Jessestr is offline Find More Posts by Jessestr
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 11:48 PM
AutoQuad OS developer
maximal's Avatar
near Ithaca, NY, US
Joined Aug 2004
945 Posts
Theoretically you want to get the ESC as far from other electronics as possible. But there are lots of people flying multicopters with them mounted right under the flight controller... so YMMV as they say. I personally prefer them out on the arms, with all wires twisted/braided (but John is right -- not so pretty).

The problem with wiring (and ESCs to some degree) is that their magnetic properties will change when the applied current changes. Which is obviously difficult to calibrate for. So I think good wiring techniques (like Jussi described) are important in any case.

-Max
maximal is offline Find More Posts by maximal
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 02:31 AM
youtube.com/#/user/flyrobots
Indonesia
Joined Apr 2011
239 Posts
Hi,

I like the centerplate as power distribution as FCP frame does and i think this is the way multirotor frame should be.
As i saw on MK forum, the power distribution should have 2 layer (plus and ground) and the pcb layout should be in complete circle (no interupt), means the ground path should be like a ring to minimized emf (electro magnet) disturbing the mag sensor.
I dont know the FCP center plate layout (i cannot see the PCB layout)

I appreciate if i can see esc position and cabling on Bill's quad like on videos.

Many thanks,

John
Flyrobot is offline Find More Posts by Flyrobot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2012, 03:01 AM
youtube.com/#/user/flyrobots
Indonesia
Joined Apr 2011
239 Posts
Here it is the discussion forum.mikrokopter.de/topic-21797-2.html and forum.mikrokopter.de/topic-28454.html
Flyrobot is offline Find More Posts by Flyrobot
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Autoquad team proudly presents: Autoquad ESC32 JussiH Multirotor Electronics 272 Jan 01, 2014 01:32 PM
Discussion Naza dji sh gps - south hemisphere public beta testers results! Velociraptor73 Multirotor Talk 26 Nov 20, 2012 01:45 AM
Discussion How Bloomberg's Soft Drink Ban Will Backfire on NYC Public Health MtnGoat Life, The Universe, and Politics 1 Jun 26, 2012 11:19 PM
Discussion The AutoQuad! [ video ] kapteinkuk Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 10, 2012 11:19 AM
Download G-3 Public Beta (.426) is out. Includes Airplane Importer! L0stS0ul Simulators 37 Mar 03, 2006 05:28 PM