HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 31, 2012, 02:31 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,871 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank.T View Post
Nice frame and handy to use the cheap arms, who is making them?

//Frank
Exacly.. i do it..
Here
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 01, 2012, 01:29 PM
Registered User
Ciskje's Avatar
North Italy
Joined Feb 2009
308 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JussiH View Post
Special thanks go out to the people who believed and got onboard - your support means a lot to us, and you can rest assured that we will do our best to support you.
Thank you Jussi!!!!
I was bored to fly with NASA.
Ciskje is offline Find More Posts by Ciskje
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2012, 07:59 AM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Nederland, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Jul 2010
992 Posts
Long Range Android communication

I like to use my SmartPhone (or any other Android) to communicate with the AQ.

The Bluetooth (or WiFi) range is to short to do something exiting with it so build a solution to have best of both wolds.

You need a BT module, Xbee/Wi232 or any other long range wireless connection.

Build it like the schematic in the attached picture.

Now connect with your Android device to the BT module and see a Long Range Android communication system.


And the good thing is that if you have a third Xbee/Wi232?.. module you can still use your PC with QG to connect


Have fun (range)

Update: picture with PC illustration


//Frank
Frank.T is offline Find More Posts by Frank.T
Last edited by Frank.T; Aug 04, 2012 at 04:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2012, 11:20 AM
Registered User
Spin_Doctor's Avatar
Joined Dec 2000
289 Posts
Frank that's great also the newer android tablets have usb host. My 3DR radio works on my Asus Prime
Spin_Doctor is offline Find More Posts by Spin_Doctor
Last edited by Spin_Doctor; Aug 02, 2012 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2012, 12:27 PM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Nederland, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Jul 2010
992 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spin_Doctor View Post
Frank that's great also the newer android tablets have usb host. My 3DR radio works on my asia prime
That is good news, if the App supports the USB than you can leave the BT and go direct to a USB breakout board.
Frank.T is offline Find More Posts by Frank.T
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2012, 05:35 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank.T View Post

And the good thing is that if you have a third Xbee/Wi232?.. module you can still use your PC with QG to connect

//Frank
You only need a Bluetooth stick on your PC to use QGC with your solution.

And if you only need a ~50m short range telemetry system, i.e. for testing and pre-flight checks that cheap bluetooth module you mentioned will do.
http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/autoqu...telemetry-xbee

Cheapest long range system up to 1km is still the APC220 from GLB for 35$
But its airspeed is limited to 19,2k and downlink to 57,6k so it'll only be good for transmitting telemetry data to the ground station.
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2012, 05:39 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,906 Posts
Were are the flight videos of the people that got this FC ??
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 03:59 AM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Nederland, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Jul 2010
992 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
You only need a Bluetooth stick on your PC to use QGC with your solution.

And if you only need a ~50m short range telemetry system, i.e. for testing and pre-flight checks that cheap bluetooth module you mentioned will do.
http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/autoqu...telemetry-xbee

Cheapest long range system up to 1km is still the APC220 from GLB for 35$
But its airspeed is limited to 19,2k and downlink to 57,6k so it'll only be good for transmitting telemetry data to the ground station.
No you don't need a BT stick on your computer !!!!!!

You need a Xbee Breakout with USB
(or any other usb connection to your wireless system)

PC>USB>Xbee USB breakout ------- XBee> AQ


So you can connect it miles and miles and miles

//Frank
Frank.T is offline Find More Posts by Frank.T
Last edited by Frank.T; Aug 04, 2012 at 04:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 04:52 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,399 Posts
Nonono! *stomping feet on the ground*
You don't need another expensive XBee + USB bob!!!

A cheap class2 BT stick will do.
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 04:55 AM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Nederland, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Jul 2010
992 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Nonono! *stomping feet on the ground*
You don't need another expensive XBee + USB bob!!!

A cheap class2 BT stick will do.
Not sure if you need the Toshiba BT stack than!, because a default BT on your PC
makes two COM ports, one TX and one for RX, and the program can't handle that

(both feet from the ground)
Frank.T is offline Find More Posts by Frank.T
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 06:06 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,399 Posts
How come you don't trust me?

Using this setup for testing and checks:
Asus EEE PC/Win XP32 with AQ QGC
5$ Class 2 BT stick, 10$ BT module
Generic MS BT stack, COM17 standard BT port

As I mentioned before it's not a full telemetry solution but a quick&dirty setup to test and control the AQ after flashing the firmware via FTDI/USB
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 07:43 AM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Nederland, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Jul 2010
992 Posts
You win
Frank.T is offline Find More Posts by Frank.T
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 05:12 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
822 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
Were are the flight videos of the people that got this FC ??
+1
epyonxero is offline Find More Posts by epyonxero
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 01:33 AM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Nederland, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Jul 2010
992 Posts
First hover

The First hover, like always, first at home so if it goes wrong I don't need to walk that far

Calculations where stopped after some loops (they will run the next days) but I wanted to see the baby flying.

Wow it is stable !!

AQ6 First flight (1 min 31 sec)


//Frank
Frank.T is offline Find More Posts by Frank.T
Last edited by Frank.T; Aug 05, 2012 at 10:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 01:54 PM
Registered User
Spin_Doctor's Avatar
Joined Dec 2000
289 Posts
I really need to fine some time
Spin_Doctor is offline Find More Posts by Spin_Doctor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Autoquad team proudly presents: Autoquad ESC32 JussiH Multirotor Electronics 274 Oct 31, 2014 11:19 AM
Discussion Naza dji sh gps - south hemisphere public beta testers results! Velociraptor73 Multirotor Talk 26 Nov 20, 2012 02:45 AM
Discussion How Bloomberg's Soft Drink Ban Will Backfire on NYC Public Health MtnGoat Life, The Universe, and Politics 1 Jun 27, 2012 12:19 AM
Discussion The AutoQuad! [ video ] kapteinkuk Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 10, 2012 12:19 PM
Download G-3 Public Beta (.426) is out. Includes Airplane Importer! L0stS0ul Simulators 37 Mar 03, 2006 06:28 PM