HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 01, 2012, 06:13 PM
Registered User
Terkan's Avatar
Cincinnati, OH
Joined Jan 2003
474 Posts
Discussion
icharger 306b help - was Dell 2850 power supply help

After trying over and over to figure out what is going on with this thing it occurred to me that I could try to power it from one of my 6S lipos to eliminate the power supply as the culprit (don't know why it took so long to figure that out..). I had previously just assumed it was the power supply since 12v worked fine but running of 24v I would get the intermittent resets. The 306b resets the same running off of a battery once it ramps up to between 14 and 18 amps. I'm trying to charge an 8Ah 6S pack at 30 amps. The charger has the latest 3.14 firmware and I reinstalled the firmware without change.

Anyone seen this before or have any suggestions?

Thanks!


------------------previously posted:---------------------------------------------------------------
I have two of the power supplies as pictured here:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=408

I followed the schematics on RCGroups get them powered up, isolate the ground and use a voltage divider for fan speed control.

They work exceptionally well! -usually.

I run them in series with a 306B charger. Intermittently, and I can't find a pattern, they will reset once the charger ramps up to about 14 amps. Once this happens powering them down/unplugging/whatever doesn't seem to restore (but they'll work fine in series up to 14amps). Next time I try to use them in series they'll work fine at 30amps. Doesn't matter which order I connect them and while this is happening each independently will happily provide my charger current up to its 12v limit (~21amps).

Any ideas?
Terkan is offline Find More Posts by Terkan
Last edited by Terkan; Jul 06, 2012 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2012, 02:51 PM
Registered User
Terkan's Avatar
Cincinnati, OH
Joined Jan 2003
474 Posts
Updated with new info.
Terkan is offline Find More Posts by Terkan
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:02 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
What do you mean they "reset"?

They shut off?

Have you taken any voltage measurements?
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:05 PM
Registered User
Terkan's Avatar
Cincinnati, OH
Joined Jan 2003
474 Posts
The 306b resets. It flickers then reboots. It does this from the 24v power supply's or from a 25v Lipo source. It is intermittent and sometimes works fine.

It always works flawless on a 12v source.
Terkan is offline Find More Posts by Terkan
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:12 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
What do you have Input Limits set to?
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:20 PM
Registered User
Terkan's Avatar
Cincinnati, OH
Joined Jan 2003
474 Posts
50amp
Terkan is offline Find More Posts by Terkan
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:23 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
No.

In the charger under settings it has a place to set the voltage input limits.
One is the max and one is the min.

What do you have them set to?
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 10:26 PM
Registered User
Terkan's Avatar
Cincinnati, OH
Joined Jan 2003
474 Posts
Should be defaults but I just checked and input max is set to 50, min to 4.5. I could have sworn when I changed the 50 with the right arrow it went to 1a and then I put it back to 50.

The resets on 24v are intermittent as well, sometimes works fine
Terkan is offline Find More Posts by Terkan
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 02:15 PM
Registered User
Terkan's Avatar
Cincinnati, OH
Joined Jan 2003
474 Posts
Thanks to very friendly people at EPBuddy, ProgressiveRC and Junsi we've determined it was a defective unit.

Thanks for everyone's help.
Terkan is offline Find More Posts by Terkan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DELL SP489 server power supply conversion help? Protoser DIY Electronics 6 Dec 04, 2013 12:17 AM
Help! converting dell power supply need help topgun22 Batteries and Chargers 2 May 22, 2012 11:18 AM
For Sale Dell 2100W power supplies and back plug pcb lmlisak Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Mar 30, 2012 08:17 AM
Discussion What's the dimensions of a Dell power supply NPS-700AB jamesrini Batteries and Chargers 1 Mar 12, 2012 04:40 PM
Discussion Dell Power Supply Help LESSOR2 Batteries and Chargers 1 Mar 08, 2012 11:29 PM