HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 29, 2012, 02:17 PM
smokey point, wash.
Joined Dec 2003
1,171 Posts
Build Log
Slicko EPP 3D build thread

Just recieved two kits of the new "Slicko EPP 3D" foamy kit from Kevin at RC Plane Builder, here is the link to his kit on the website:
http://www.rcplanebuilder.com/index....ex&cPath=16_42

I will build the kit with pictures, and I might stray from the excellent online instructions that are posted in PDF from his site, but this is my first time working with EPP. I will be weighing each componet as I use them, and I will be omitting the landing gear as I will be flying in my back yard.

My building surface is quarter inch tempered glass for this build, however, any nice and flat surface can be used keeping in mind that some pieces of waxed paper will be needed to keep any glue from getting on your build surface, or having to use a MUCH larger motor to fly the plane with the attached building surface riding along. The glue of choice for this build is "Welder's" and that can be bought from Kevin also. It is a form of contact cement, and is just the cat's meow for this type of foam, but NOT Depron !!

The kit is shipped inside a sturdy box and the parts are inside a re-sealable plastic bag. This is a very well thought out kit ( I have the painted, carbon version), and I actually spent about an hour just looking at the really nice job that was done to make this plane really easy to build. ALL of the control surfaces are hinged with Goop glue and very sturdy, the cutting of the foam is spot on and true, all of the carbon pieces are pre-cut to length as is the wire ends for the push rods, heat shrink tubing, control horns, and motor mount plywood. There is a long arm for the aileron servo and velcro for the battery. On my kit, all of the carbon spars were glued in place, so the plane is ready to build....nice !!